Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 08:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

humidistat keeps water flowing??


Hi everybody, here is my question:

I have a humidifier on my furnace. There is a 24V wire that goes to the humidistat and from there to the transformer. But nothing that connects this system to the furnace.

So the problem is, when the humidistat opens up the water supply to the humidifier, it keeps flowing and the water ends up down the drain, not adding at all to the humidity in the house and it keeps going whether the furnace is running or not. What is wrong with this setup?

Thanks.

Newmarket

PS I looked at the circuit board in the furnace, and there is no connection for any wire for a humidistat.

I have an Aprilaire 550 humidifier and an old, 80% furnace, make unknown.

Newmarket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 04:45 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,052
Default

humidistat keeps water flowing??


Install a sail switch or a current sensor relay so it only runs when the fan runs.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:23 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,325
Default

humidistat keeps water flowing??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Newmarket View Post
Hi everybody, here is my question:

I have a humidifier on my furnace. There is a 24V wire that goes to the humidistat and from there to the transformer. But nothing that connects this system to the furnace.

So the problem is, when the humidistat opens up the water supply to the humidifier, it keeps flowing and the water ends up down the drain, not adding at all to the humidity in the house and it keeps going whether the furnace is running or not. What is wrong with this setup?

Thanks.

Newmarket

PS I looked at the circuit board in the furnace, and there is no connection for any wire for a humidistat.

I have an Aprilaire 550 humidifier and an old, 80% furnace, make unknown.
as bt said could could use a sail switch....but that furnace should and connector on board that says hum...humidifer...that connector is for the 120 volt supply to transformer for humidifer...this operates when blower starts on furnace and will also start the humidifier if its call for water.. what you have now is wired wrong....ben
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:01 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 449
Default

humidistat keeps water flowing??


This website may have useful info:

http://www.alpinehomeair.com/viewpro...ctID=453058472

See Documents tab
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aprilaire humidifer


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation and support of water heater expansion tanks. Homerepairguy Plumbing 46 01-28-2013 05:55 AM
Grossly insufficient water supply to toilet wasting water? mysterylectric Plumbing 8 01-17-2012 11:19 AM
Cold water is warm - hot water leak under slab? Homerepairguy Plumbing 9 10-13-2010 08:17 PM
water heater drip kdange1 Plumbing 5 05-04-2010 03:24 PM
Testing 12 year old hot water expansion tank? DJfixer Plumbing 2 01-01-2009 08:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.