Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2011, 12:48 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Share |
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


Quote:
Originally Posted by VeryChilly View Post
>What's the plan to keep the water line from freezing?
Does not freeze here, if it did, the heater would be running all night so water would go thro the pipe and probably would not freeze.

Sucking in cold air from the attic
Yes. What I am not sure about is how much is leaking. I cannot feel it for example. I used sheet metal screws all around the tap (speediboot) and the humidifier body to try to prevent that but i did not tape or use sealant.

Can you use duct tape on the hot supply side o a heater plenum (the tap is on the top surface)?
you dont use duct (gaffers) tape on anything hvac related, use foil tape that is rated for duct work, duct tape dries out crumbles and just goes bad on duct work, it was never ment for "ducts"

BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 04:50 PM   #17
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


I have had foil tape (polyken 399) on the top of my gas-fired 1980 Carrier furnace since I moved in last year. It even surrounds the chimney connection.

The prior owner put it there, the tape has a printed date of 11 02, but it's still tight, even on the chimney. So I'd say yes, you can use foil tape on top of the furnace. If you are really worried they sell foil flue tape that is rated to 600F
M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:19 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


Quote:
Originally Posted by M3 Pete View Post
I have had foil tape (polyken 399) on the top of my gas-fired 1980 Carrier furnace since I moved in last year. It even surrounds the chimney connection.

The prior owner put it there, the tape has a printed date of 11 02, but it's still tight, even on the chimney. So I'd say yes, you can use foil tape on top of the furnace. If you are really worried they sell foil flue tape that is rated to 600F
yes, like I said above duct tape no (the fabric vinyal type tape), foil tape yes
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 02:01 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


OK Today I basically arapped the furnace in R30 on the ends and back and top. The front needs air. The water is regulated to a tiny tricle, but it is still struggling. That only leaves the bypass. I guess it is either sucking a lot of energy by recuirculating air somehow, or the evaporation is really affecting it.

Im stumped.
VeryChilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 08:19 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


Quote:
Originally Posted by VeryChilly View Post
OK Today I basically arapped the furnace in R30 on the ends and back and top. The front needs air. The water is regulated to a tiny tricle, but it is still struggling. That only leaves the bypass. I guess it is either sucking a lot of energy by recuirculating air somehow, or the evaporation is really affecting it.

Im stumped.
turn off the humidifier and find out
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 08:22 AM   #21
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,298
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


how did U wire the 24 volts to it. used the 110/24 transformer did U or did U cheat and hook them to W and C on the board.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 11:20 AM   #22
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


Well we still don't know what the temp rise is and we have no idea about pressures and if I'm reading this right he took the supply side tap off the veery top of the supply plenum.There are a lot of things to look at bgefore condeming the by pass itself which shouldn't cause any temp reduction.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 04:49 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


Hooked it to the board.

Turned off it makes it to 70 deg.

The temp rise depends on the outsied temp which varies from 45 to 60 deg right now.
VeryChilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 05:34 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


Temp rise is the difference between supply temp and return temp. It's taken at the return where it connects to the furnace and 3' past the furnace in the supply duct.

If the supply register and return grill temp spread is changing based on outdoor temp then you're sucking in large amounts of attic air. Please measure again and post the findings.

Probably time to call the landlord if the furnace can't raise the house temp more then 25 degrees from outside temps.

Last edited by Marty S.; 12-23-2011 at 05:38 PM.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 12:12 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


I dont know how I would measure air temps on a running, in two places at once, one of which is 3" from the exhaust!

I suspect this is just as far as it goes and there is no answer other than replacing the entire furnace with a bigger unit (not going to happen).

So I ordered a wood burnign stove that I can take with me cos this is costing me $150/mo and doing a poor job.
VeryChilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 04:03 AM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,846
Default

Humidifier making my furnace struggle to achieve 68deg


Your humidifier is using rough 6 gallons of water an hour. About 3/4 of a gallon is being evaporated. So about 2,230BTUS an hour is being taken by the humidifier. Which shouldn't make too much of a difference in the time it takes to heat your house.

A meat thermometer can be used to check the air discharge temp of a supply lose to the furnace. Its possible that too much air is being bypassed, so that your not getting as much heat put into the house as you use to. Speeding up the blower can often solve this.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ducting, furnace, humidifier, insulation


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pilot light going out often...and furnace making a big "boom" sound Beth777 HVAC 20 01-22-2011 04:27 PM
Forced air furnace blowers making noise CowboyAndy HVAC 9 11-26-2008 12:56 AM
furnace making noise ja3118 HVAC 1 11-24-2008 10:51 AM
Furnace is making a whistling/humming sound JayBird HVAC 7 01-26-2008 08:35 AM
Furnace making noise munn HVAC 6 02-08-2007 10:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.