Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2011, 10:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is HP cooling properly


It was 100 degrees today in Delaware. My upstairs HP unit isn't keeping up but it is putting out some cool air and is running continuously. It is now 10PM- 88 degrees outside and the temp inside is down to 78. I have about 60FT of line length and 17FT of lift. The unit is a Trane XB-13 2 ton model. ANY ADVICE APPRECIATED- thanks.

mdevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:57 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Is HP cooling properly


has it been properly maintained? freon level checked, indoor and outdoor coils cleaned etc.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 09:02 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is HP cooling properly


Thanks for reading Yuri! The unit and house is only 4 years old. The indoor unit and ductwork are in the attic. I have good soffit and ridge vents but no power exhaust vent. Last night the outside temp dipped to 85 and the unit was able to finally shut off at 72 degrees. It's now 90 degrees in late morning and the unit is running continuously but so far keeping up. We'll see this afternoon- it's supposed to get to 100 again.
mdevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 02:16 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,289
Rewards Points: 2,240
Default

Is HP cooling properly


Since it is in the attic, is the duct sealed to keep from pulling in hot attic air. What is the temp in the attic space during the day.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 01:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is HP cooling properly


Thanks gregzoll! I'm not sure if my ducts are sealed well or not. I was getting 65 to 69 F out of the registers. The outside temps started off at 85 and went to 102. The unit ran continuously and the space temp rose to 78 before it dropped again overnight. My attic space temp was 115 to 120! I have soffit vents and ridge vents. Do you think I need a powered exhaust vent?
mdevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 02:05 PM   #6
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is HP cooling properly


I would say no to the power venting in the attic.I would repeat what yuri said in that the coils should be clean.If you are religious about changing the filter your indoor coil should be ok.
The ducts in the attic should be sealed (with mastic) at all joints and insulated.
If you have flex duct runs they should be as short as possible. as stright as possible with metal elbows at bends.They should be hung according to manufacturer specs and they should be sized according to flex duct sizing indicates for proper air flow.
In a good number of cases like yours there is a shortage of return air back to the blower so that shiould be checked out by an experienced duct man.One or two extra returns might be the ticket to your comfort.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 02:14 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Is HP cooling properly


Hey there, REP. The same REP from over there, right? It's me, the infamous Roadhouse. Glad you could join, your expertise is greatly appreciated. Beenthere is here as well.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
REP (07-24-2011)
Old 07-24-2011, 03:37 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is HP cooling properly


Thanks REP! I am very religious about changing the filter at least twice a year. The unit is only 4 years old. I'm certain the coil is clean. Should I check the output temp at the unit? Since the ductwork's in the attic, the supplies and the returns are both in the ceiling. There are 2 baths with 16 IN vents and no returns, and 3 bedrooms. 2 of the bedrooms have two 16 inch supplies with a 32 IN return and one has a 16 IN supply and 16 IN return. What is the best way to check for leaks? I'm not certain the charge is right because of the length and lift (see above). Any suggestions on how to get a technician to resolve the issue properly?
mdevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 04:56 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Is HP cooling properly


Quote:
I am very religious about changing the filter at least twice a year.
eeeek !!!

You should be changing filters every 8-12 weeks !!!!
log_doc_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 06:42 PM   #10
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is HP cooling properly


Taking tempatures can tell you a lot.
One reading would go like this;taking a temp jyust before blower and just after the inside coil.This would tell you how much heat is being taken out of the house air.This temp ius dependant on size of couil,the CFM,and the temp of coil.
Now go back to the house and get temp of the air at the return air grille.It should be close to the temp just before the blower.If there is a bigger differance it means that the ductwork is picking up additional heat on its way to the blower.The other temp to consider is the temp at the supplyn registers.It should be close to the temp just after the inside coil.If it is not,if it is not as cold then the ductwork is giving up temp before it gets to the house.Causes for this could be restriction causing lower cfm than needed it could be the ducts arew not well insulated or loss of cfm due to faulty seal of ductwork.
The only way for you to check your ductwork would be to have something that smokes.if you go around each connection and the smoke either goes away from duct or is drawn into duct then you need to seal that connection.
If you have the above temps written down for the servive tech it will save a good bit of time.He can check the charge with super heat or subcooling to tell if you need a charge infussion.If you do then you have a refrigeration leak and you can't fix that .The tech has to find the leak and repair it.This is not a simple solder job.

REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
mdevo (07-24-2011)
Reply

Tags
refrigerant charge, subcooling correction


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with new HVAC system cooling properly stock2mal HVAC 6 07-16-2011 07:58 AM
House not cooling properly sayitaintso HVAC 2 05-11-2011 10:44 PM
Help! Just changed my Fan Controler (ICM 275) now system "false starts" when cooling redmachodevil HVAC 4 01-26-2011 03:21 AM
Wiring a Ruud RGTK-06E series furnace for 2-ton cooling bolo_invictus HVAC 3 01-25-2010 03:24 PM
Installation of Honeywell Thermostat - cooling function KDW Electrical 0 10-04-2009 09:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.