How Tall Should I Make My Supply Plenum Box? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2008, 12:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How tall should I make my supply plenum box?


Can someone explain to me how to determine the size of a plenum box on a gas forced air furnace? Other than having the necessary surface area to mount all the supply ducts, is there a certain height that I need to be above the heat exchanger? I would like to put the furnace up on a platform as high as possible, so I am looking to keep the sheet metal above as short as possible. I am thinking about 16-1/2" wide x 20" deep x 20" high for a 75,000 btu furnace.

Advertisement

super77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 06:15 AM   #2
oops, did I do that!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 250
Default

How tall should I make my supply plenum box?


Keep in mind that the shorter you make it, the more difficult it will be to add an AC coil in the future. If you can, instal the coil now, and add the rest later.

For a gas furnace, the top of the plenum needs to be a minimum of 1" from the bottom of the floor trusses. If the manufacturer has a requirement, it will be in the IOM that came with the furnace.

20" tall will be fine.

Advertisement


Last edited by 8 Ball; 08-01-2008 at 06:19 AM.
8 Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 10:26 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How tall should I make my supply plenum box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Ball View Post
Keep in mind that the shorter you make it, the more difficult it will be to add an AC coil in the future. If you can, instal the coil now, and add the rest later.

For a gas furnace, the top of the plenum needs to be a minimum of 1" from the bottom of the floor trusses. If the manufacturer has a requirement, it will be in the IOM that came with the furnace.

20" tall will be fine.
Thanks. I will not be adding A/C now or in the future, so that's not a concern.
super77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Galvenized supply to PEX, How to make connection? twilightcall Plumbing 4 07-28-2008 10:28 PM
Supply Line Touching Roof MikeinBurien Electrical 14 07-13-2008 12:26 PM
Removing Extended Plenum Calm_Blue_Ocean HVAC 15 01-07-2008 06:22 PM
Plenum Design winkydink HVAC 1 11-22-2006 11:28 PM
add an additional register to a supply line b2v HVAC 1 06-20-2006 07:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts