Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2011, 08:39 PM   #1
jse
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: CT.
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

How should I trouble shoot a blower motor


I have an American Standard Freedom 90 furnace that decided not to work all the sudden. When trouble shooting the problem I found the contact for the MD-LO wire fried itself right off the I.F.C.. It's obvious i need a new I.F.C. but before I install one I would like to make sure the blower motor is working right so this doesn't happen again. How would i go about testing the different stages of the motor before installing the new I.F.C.? Or maybe someone can tell me where else to look for possible problems. Thanks!

jse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 12:05 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

How should I trouble shoot a blower motor


You can test continuity/ohms through the wires. The higher the speed wire you test in ohms the less resistance it will show.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How should I trouble shoot a blower motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by jse View Post
before I install one I would like to make sure the blower motor is working right so this doesn't happen again. How would i go about testing the different stages of the motor before installing the new I.F.C.? Or maybe someone can tell me where else to look for possible problems. Thanks!
A fried wire sounds like it was caused by a mechanically loose connection. When current flows through the high contact resistance it gets very hot.

I just confirmed the blower motor operation on my furnace.
The schematic showed that the motor works on 120v and what pins controlled what speed.
I hooked up a suicide cord and fed the terminals with 120v, confirming that the motor worked before doing the considerable work of reinstalling it.
Once I knew it worked I checked resistance from each terminal to each of the other terminals so I'd have this info for the next time.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 11-08-2011 at 10:14 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECM Blower Motor bad Dragons Den HVAC 21 01-04-2014 08:21 PM
Blower motor: Emerson to GE threeonesix HVAC 12 08-25-2011 04:59 PM
Blower motor shuts off while condenser is still running redheaddmsu HVAC 1 08-24-2011 04:17 PM
Blower Motor Problem curranelectric HVAC 5 08-06-2009 07:04 PM
Trouble shooting a Blower Motor cougar HVAC 10 07-15-2008 09:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.