Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2011, 08:47 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


The motor still works... It'll run for 15 minutes or so and stop. Very well could be a thermal cutoff issue!

Kevin DuBose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:33 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


This set up almost worked for me, but, I fried my new motor trying. I do not have a start assist circuit on my unit. I have a goodman ck24-1b AC unit. I bought the Emerson universal fan motor. I'm swapping out my 3wire motor for the 5 wire universal. Here is what worked for me...

Capasitor: Herm terminal - yellow wire from compressor
Fan terminal - only Brown wire from fan motor
C terminal - Red wire from T2 on contactor and Brown/White wire from fan motor

Fan: Brown going to Capisator fan terminal
white going to T2 terminal (the one with the red wires) on contactor
Red going to T1 terminal (the one with all the black wires) on contactor
Brown/White going to C terminal on Capasitor
Black wire just wrap up with electrical tape and not used since my A/C uses 1/6 (Low) hp speed
Miester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 11:12 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


I have the same condenser item, same replacement scenario (3-wire original, 4-wire new from Grainger), but my question is how to wire the new motor using the original 3 contactor capacitor. Based on physical appearance, the capacitor doesn't require replacing and I'm not comfortable enough with the basic wiring diagram on the new motor to just connect everything and hope for the best.

That being said, where do I connect the 4 wires (brown, brown/white, black and purple) using the original cap?

Thank you everyone for taking so much time to help through this forum!
ReVive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:30 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


You should always replace the capacitor when replacing the motor. Just because a capacitor "looks" okay doesn't mean it is.

A 4 wire motor should have the two Brown wires connected to the Capacitor (and NOTHING else to that cap), and the Black and Purple wires are connected to line voltage. If you could take some pics we could perhaps help you sort this out.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 08:00 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


I'm having a similar problem. I have a 3 wire motor going to a dual run capacitor but the new motor I just picked up from Grainger has more wires. Do I need an additional cap? I replaced my dual run capacitor about 6 weeks ago but again the fan isn't running. I picked up another cap and a new motor this time. They also did not have the exact 1/8hp motor I asked for and sold me a 1/6hp. Is that a problem?
pauleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 08:15 AM   #21
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,756
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


What's the rpm and amp rating of both old and new motors?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 08:52 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


rpm is the same. I'll have to check the amp rating. Not at home at the moment. Had to bug out last night. Ran out of daylight and patience. I think the new motor was supposed to come with it's own run capacitor but even so I'm not sure I would need it.
pauleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 10:04 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


You should always replace the cap when replacing the motor, but since your current dual cap is only 6 weeks old, you'd be okay with using that IF it's the same MFD and voltage rating. If not, then replace the cap.

You'd have to provide some pictures of the old motor wiring, and a picture of the new motor wiring and wiring diagram (on the motor label).
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 10:14 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


I changed fan motor on my ac unit it was a three wire new one is four wire fan is running good but my old compactior had three prongs new compactior only has two I have red wire that went to this HERM prong that comes from my compresser where does this wire go my compresser will not run without it called where i bought motor they want to charge to come and hook it up
anthony b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 08:40 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


My condenser fan motor will run for a couple of minutes a stop running and will keep this up until the circuit breaker in the house trips.

I went and purchased a new condenser fan motor, a dual run capacitor, and a single run capacitor for the fan.

The new condenser fan motor has 5 wires instead of 4. I hooked it up everything in the following way.

From condenser fan motor
Black to L1 on the contractor L1
White to L2 on the contractor L2
Brown to the new single run capacitor (right side, 1 of the 4 post)
Brown/White to the new single run capacitor (Left side, 1 of the 4 post)
Green to Ground

New Dual Capacitor
C post to L2 on the contractor
HERM to Condensor
Fan - NOTHING

My problem is that it is still doing the same thing.

Do I need to run any other wires, or is there another problem all together?
Sammymh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:49 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammymh View Post
My condenser fan motor will run for a couple of minutes a stop running and will keep this up until the circuit breaker in the house trips.

I went and purchased a new condenser fan motor, a dual run capacitor, and a single run capacitor for the fan.

The new condenser fan motor has 5 wires instead of 4. I hooked it up everything in the following way.

From condenser fan motor
Black to L1 on the contractor L1
White to L2 on the contractor L2
Brown to the new single run capacitor (right side, 1 of the 4 post)
Brown/White to the new single run capacitor (Left side, 1 of the 4 post)
Green to Ground

New Dual Capacitor
C post to L2 on the contractor
HERM to Condensor
Fan - NOTHING

My problem is that it is still doing the same thing.

Do I need to run any other wires, or is there another problem all together?
not changing a capacitor on a failed motor is like putting your dirty shorts back on after a shower.... there cheap change it.....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 10:25 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


Carmon,

Thank you for responding.

I did buy a new motor, dual capacitor and fan capacitor. I think it is working, I had 2 wires touching and I pulled them apart and put electrical tape around and working for an hour.

Sammy
Sammymh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:32 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


I have the same motor as mentioned above and can't figure out where the WHITE wire goes. The capacitor is marked with a 'C', 'HERM'and 'FAN' I currently have the brown wire and brn/wht wire connected to the 'FAN'terminal, one on the right and one on the left. I have the black connected where it was before on the (not sure this is the correct way to say it) circuit part of the unit I believe to be L1. If I can figure out where the white one goes I'll be in business......or maybe it's all wrong. Please help.....it's getting hot in Texas.
kmillar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:30 PM   #29
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kmillar View Post
I have the same motor as mentioned above and can't figure out where the WHITE wire goes. The capacitor is marked with a 'C', 'HERM'and 'FAN' I currently have the brown wire and brn/wht wire connected to the 'FAN'terminal, one on the right and one on the left. I have the black connected where it was before on the (not sure this is the correct way to say it) circuit part of the unit I believe to be L1. If I can figure out where the white one goes I'll be in business......or maybe it's all wrong. Please help.....it's getting hot in Texas.
You have 4 wires motor so

brown wire and brn/wht goes to new capacitor

Black and white goes to TI and T2 on the contactor.

F will be empty on the dual capacitor
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:46 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to replace condensor fan motor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
You have 4 wires motor so

brown wire and brn/wht goes to new capacitor

Black and white goes to TI and T2 on the contactor.

F will be empty on the dual capacitor

Pardon my ignorance, do the browns go to the 'FAN', 'C' or 'HERM' Terminals on the capacitor? They are currently connected to the 'FAN' which has 4 prongs. The orange from the contactor is connected to the 'C' on the capacitor, and PURPLE from compressor to the 'HERM' on capacitor. Just want to make sure I get this right and don't fry anything. Thanks in advance. If you needs pics or more info. please let me know.
Attached Thumbnails
How to replace condensor fan motor?-2012-09-10_15-47-01_250.jpg   How to replace condensor fan motor?-2012-09-10_15-48-12_77.jpg  


Last edited by kmillar; 09-10-2012 at 08:42 PM. Reason: added photos
kmillar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I replace the blower motor too? Arthas HVAC 4 05-06-2011 08:43 PM
Replace Fan Motor Maureen693 HVAC 3 04-20-2011 10:35 AM
Replace Furnace Blower Motor Jenks HVAC 1 04-24-2010 07:09 AM
Replace Condenser Fan Motor cnavazio HVAC 14 06-24-2009 09:57 PM
Replace a furnace blower motor dadncharge HVAC 2 12-06-2007 09:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.