Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-02-2009, 09:17 AM   #1

Share |

How to patch hole in duct work and drill new one?

Okay, I'm a duct work/sheet metal newbie here.

I'm replacing an old manual Aprilaire humidistat with a new digital one. I took the old one off, and there's about a 3x4 inch hole in the return air ductwork where that was mounted. What's the best way to patch that hole?

My new humidistat requires a 3/4 inch round hole in the ductwork that I'll have to cut. Can I get metal drill bits that big and is that the best way to make the hole, or should I go with one of those hole cutters that you use with an angle grinder? I don't want to spend a lot on tools, if I can avoid it, since this will likely be the only time I use them.

It would be nice if I could get buy a square of sheet metal with a 3/4 hole premade, and then I could use that to patch the old larger hole, and have the new 3/4 inch hole already there so I don't have to buy any extra tools. Is there anywhere I could get something like this, or would a hardware store make that for me for cheap?

If you have ideas on how to patch the old hole and the most economical way to create the new one, w/o having to buy a bunch of new tools, that would be appreciated. Thanks for your help!!

Studly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 09:31 AM   #2
the Musigician

you can bang a coffee can flat (tin snip it to size and remove edges) and drill holes in it and use a rivet gun to attach it. they're cheap enough. for the hole, draw your hole on it, then use a smallish chisel to tap out 'pizza slices', then pull them up like Jughead's hat in the old Archie comics and snip them as round as you can, then tap them back flat. a dremel tool will help finish rounding the hole.

DM

Old 03-02-2009, 11:17 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post