Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2010, 08:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to mount air cleaner to blower duct...


Hello, I have a new Trion Electronic Air Cleaner which mounts horizontally to the blower duct.

When looking at how the old unit was installed, it seems to have these long cleats at the flanges of the opening of the blower duct, gripping the blower duct and the air cleaner housing together. Is the the normal way of fastening two units face to face? Where can you get those long sheet metal gripper cleats they have on the flanges?

DwayneB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 08:57 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

How to mount air cleaner to blower duct...


I think your talking about s cleats.

Post pics.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 09:50 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to mount air cleaner to blower duct...


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I think your talking about s cleats.

Post pics.
You are exactly correct. I looked up "s cleats". Example: https://www.hardwareworld.com/60in-3...t-pRNHD1Z.aspx I guess I will need to get those online, I've not found them in a local hardware store. Maybe I can reuse the old ones, but in addition to the s-cleats, I have to drill out rivets to remove the old unit. They have riveted through both flanges and the s-cleats! Thanks for the help! I would never have guessed s-cleats.
DwayneB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 09:53 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

How to mount air cleaner to blower duct...


Its a common method of connecting the 2. Including using either rivets, or screws. To keep them from coming apart.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Lennox G20 Series - Bad blower board - or is it more? inn8pwr HVAC 48 12-30-2009 04:13 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM
Will a 3 ton a/c, 4 ton blower, and 5 ton duct on energy star on 2400 s.f. johnny2199 HVAC 1 08-06-2008 05:09 AM
Wiring inline duct fan to blower motor cleininger HVAC 3 12-12-2006 07:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.