How To Make Takeoff On Flex Supply Duct - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2010, 01:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how to make takeoff on flex supply duct


installing new 16" flex in crawl space and want to know best way to make 6" taps for branches to registers? Do they make a metal Y fitting?

Any help would be appreciated.

Advertisement

jimmy anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 07:24 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how to make takeoff on flex supply duct


I'd hook the flex up to insulated tin duct an run the take offs from there.

Advertisement

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 08:23 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

how to make takeoff on flex supply duct


Yes, they make wye's that you can use. The wyes will be sheet metal.

16" flex. Guessing your installing a 2.5 ton unit. if its only one trunk line.

PS: Flex in a crawlspace, should not be close to the crawl's floor. Mice/rats like to eat it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:56 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.C.
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 250
Default

how to make takeoff on flex supply duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy anderson View Post
installing new 16" flex in crawl space and want to know best way to make 6" taps for branches to registers? Do they make a metal Y fitting?

Any help would be appreciated.

Available from Lowes off the shelf or by special order.
http://www.standexadp.com/catstyle.p...groupname=Wyes

Another site.
http://americanhvacparts.com/Merchan...e=duct-teewyes

And another.
http://www.audubonsupply.com/browse.cfm/2,335.html

One more.
http://www.theductshop.com/shop/catalog-wyes-c-1_6.html
Earnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 11:02 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how to make takeoff on flex supply duct


I’m a little concern on running 16” flex to supply all your distributions runs. Fist of all to your question, yes, you can buy wye’s from a distributor (don’t think box store will carry such) which he’ll probably need to order. You’d be better off taking a straight piece of metal pipe 16” dia., about 24” long and using it as a connector and then cutting in 6” saddle takeoff’s on both sides. This should be less expensive and easier to obtain. Back to my concern, your duct system should have reducers to maintain velocity and back pressure. A crude way of doing this would be to bleed off four runs and then adding a 4” reducer taking your main run down to 12”, etc. Without going through a duct design class this will give you some semblance of a normal duct system. A 16” trunk run by itself will leave your home with erratic air flow. Hope this is helpful and you are successful with your installation.
Russ Ihme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flex Duct in Soffit HooKooDooKu HVAC 2 01-18-2010 06:48 PM
Galvenized supply to PEX, How to make connection? twilightcall Plumbing 4 07-28-2008 10:28 PM
Flex Duct Advice ssporty21228 HVAC 4 07-23-2008 09:28 PM
To Insulate or Not (Flex Duct) BasementDweller HVAC 1 07-21-2008 10:03 PM
Can I add insulation to a 6" flex duct? EE playing with HVAC HVAC 10 06-24-2008 07:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts