Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2010, 09:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


Recently bought a replacement control board for my 14 year old York furnance. The replacement part number is 21-33102956000. I am getting a repeating "nine red blinks" on the LED error indicator. Tha means polarity or grounding problem. My old board grounded through a screw that connected the board to the sheet metal brace. The hole in the old board had a metal tab (labeled on board as ground) in the screw hole...establishing the ground. I don't see a similar grounding mechanism for my new board. I never had the grounding error code before...so I am assuming it is something to do with the new board. Any ideas? Thanks. Garry

garryshaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 09:30 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,506
Rewards Points: 2,692
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


Make sure that the transformer connections to the board aren't reversed.

You can also run a wire from the boards common to the chassi(be carefull that polarity is correct first, or you can smoke the new board).

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 09:51 AM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,593
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


I had the EXACT same problem. Change the (2) 24 volt wires from the transformer around on the new board, reverse them. ie: switch R and C around.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 10:51 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


When you say "common" ... I take it that can mean connect ground wire from a "neutral" lead to the chassi. There is another empty lead called "park" ... Thanks. Garry
garryshaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 10:55 AM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,593
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


Carefully look at the the power transformer. The primary side is usually black and white (PRI) and 120 volts. The secondary side (SEC) is blue or yellow and 24 volts and attaches to the board as SEC. Switch the 2 secondary wires positions (one for the other) on the board. The old board was not polarity sensitive, all new ones are.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 10:58 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,506
Rewards Points: 2,692
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


Quote:
Originally Posted by garryshaf View Post
When you say "common" ... I take it that can mean connect ground wire from a "neutral" lead to the chassi. There is another empty lead called "park" ... Thanks. Garry
No.

Common is from the transformer secondary side.
One terminal is Marked R or +, the other is marked C or -, the C/- is common.

A neutral is never a common.


park terminal to put unused blower motor wires, so they aren't hanging in mid air, or shorting out against something else.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:36 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


Beenthere, Yuri. I switched the two secondary wires from the transformer around on the board and furnance is now working. THANKS! Garry
garryshaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:45 AM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,593
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


No Problema. Pay it Forward and Help someone else.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:48 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,506
Rewards Points: 2,692
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


Quote:
Originally Posted by garryshaf View Post
Beenthere, Yuri. I switched the two secondary wires from the transformer around on the board and furnance is now working. THANKS! Garry

Congrats.

Its a fairly common thing when going from 1 style board to another.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:50 AM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,593
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


I didn't know that until a month ago. Was 2 steps away from calling the new board bad and getting another one and egg on my face. I don't see too much York where I am.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:56 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,506
Rewards Points: 2,692
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
I didn't know that until a month ago. Was 2 steps away from calling the new board bad and getting another one and egg on my face. I don't see too much York where I am.
I'd almost swear the change the polarity of the boards every so often just to screw us up in the field.

But I can't prove it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 12:06 PM   #12
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,593
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

How do you ground York furnance control board


Now we have a conspiracy on our hands. Oy. Freedom 55 is lookin good now.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
control board, furnace, ground fault, york


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whirlpool refrig. problem ken1415 Appliances 139 05-11-2014 03:11 PM
York gas heater control board replacement spyvan HVAC 5 12-29-2008 07:12 AM
Blower control board mlmaher HVAC 1 11-24-2007 01:39 PM
Installing deck ledger board over foam board? RickT Building & Construction 5 11-06-2006 10:50 PM
Ruud a/c control board replacement ? kourso HVAC 1 07-20-2006 09:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.