Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2010, 12:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how do i cut an existing 5" duct?


i need to cut out a 8 inch long piece of my 5" dia duct so i can put in a tee for a connection to a new register.

The duct is in between two joists. Should I try to cut the duct with a reciprocating saw, or are tin snips the best way?

big guy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 03:08 AM   #2
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how do i cut an existing 5" duct?


Wouldn't it be easier to dis-assemble the duct and then cut the duct?

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Go ahead and apply for a variance, those guys at City Hall can use a good laugh.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 05:07 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,977
Rewards Points: 3,624
Default

how do i cut an existing 5" duct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlhaslip View Post
Wouldn't it be easier to dis-assemble the duct and then cut the duct?
Easiest way I know.

Hope that 5 inch goes to a bathroom, and you added another bath. And are running the new line to it.

Other wise, you aren't going to get much heat to where ever that tee will feed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install new vent/register into existing duct work? Jughead HVAC 11 12-09-2010 06:08 PM
How to add a new vent to an existing duct? tripower HVAC 3 09-20-2009 08:00 PM
Adding a stand alone wood furnace to existing duct work vtboy51 HVAC 1 04-01-2009 03:19 PM
Tapping into existing metal duct Mike_Atlanta HVAC 1 11-30-2007 01:07 AM
Modifying existing duct work Thurgee HVAC 3 04-05-2007 10:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.