Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2008, 11:21 PM   #46
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to confirm 2nd stage burner working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
It depends what your temp rise is.

If your temp rise is low. Then it could cause condensation in the primary heat exchanger. And the primary is not designed to have condensation happen in it.

2 stage units are a couple % less efficient in first stage to begin with.
So your just a bit less efficient yet with an under fired first stage.
So instead of being at 92 or 93%, you may be down to 89 or 90% in first stage.


Check your temp rise.
Then do the math.
(temp rise times 1.08) times CFM equals BTU output.
See what it says.
Don't even go there Been! The pro forum is still arguing that point and I think the thread post count has exceeded 4789!

LOL!

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 11:28 PM   #47
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

How to confirm 2nd stage burner working?


LOL...

But it was a good thread.

Did you check out the evacuation thread yet.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 11:34 PM   #48
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to confirm 2nd stage burner working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
LOL...

But it was a good thread.

Did you check out the evacuation thread yet.
No. What pro forum was it in?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 11:39 PM   #49
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

How to confirm 2nd stage burner working?


Pro tech.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 06:11 PM   #50
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,612
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

How to confirm 2nd stage burner working?


A fella can never have too many tools! or toys. You may need it someday if you have a pressure switch problem or other issues. The Testo one is especially good for pressure switches.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monitor heater repair help speakers3 HVAC 14 08-18-2013 02:52 PM
HELP! Carrier Weathermaker Infinity Not Working! MaxPierre HVAC 27 01-19-2009 06:30 PM
Question about gas burner design darsunt HVAC 4 12-14-2008 01:37 PM
single stage and dual stage heat pump vshaynes HVAC 1 10-07-2008 09:18 PM
Furnace stops working once a day - help Da_Bears HVAC 2 01-26-2006 01:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.