Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2012, 05:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Question

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


Hi dear all, thanks for reading this.

My sister's basement has a Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace. She is trying to replace the current air filter, and here is a photo:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/861/dsc0056vh.jpg/

As you can see, normally it should be easy to replace the air filter in this type of gas furnace (I think). However, for this one, it seems that the blower compartment is sealed for some reason. Unscrew the screws didn't seem to help.

I also checked with their online PDF file user manual (http://www.gogeisel.com/geiselonline..._355MAV_OM.pdf) and that didn't seem to help either. Any idea how I can reach the blower compartment so that I can replace the air filter for her? Also this gas furnace is installed in the basement crawl space, and she hasn't changed the air filter for at least 3 years now. How often the air filter should be changed for this particular model of gas furnace?? Any other thoughts or comments? Many thanks!

ohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:23 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,714
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


Where in the house does the furnace collect the return air?
Are there a bunch of small registers? one in each room?
Or is there one (or two) big ones?

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Smile

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Where in the house does the furnace collect the return air?
Are there a bunch of small registers? one in each room?
Or is there one (or two) big ones?
Hi, thanks for your response.

Yes there are a bunch of small registers (one in each room). Also there is a big one in the living room (facing the main entrance of the house). The house was built in 1936, but I think the gas furnace is about 10 years old (not 100% sure though).
ohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:45 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


sponge filter from the original install should be right after that single round duct /return and the bottom of that labeled panel 3 yrs is a long time on any filter.that labeled panel tilts out from the right pinned on the bottom where that return duct connects.does she have a hallway grill maybe 20" X 20" under or aound the stat if you need filters 1" HD/LOWES should be changed seasonally no AC??? just then in the fall checked in the winter again..there is an fan access panel within after the label panel is removed(exposes the burner and controls)

Last edited by biggles; 01-03-2012 at 05:53 PM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


They must be using the factory filter rack in the bottom of the blower compartment......what a P-I-T-A to change on that furnace. All I can say is you get what you pay for.......
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


Thanks for everyone's reply. I really really appreciate that.

By the way, is there any different "generations" of Bryant Plus 90 furnace that might use different sizes of air filter?? Is it one size fits all (in terms of the air filter) for different variations of Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?? Where would be the best place to buy air filters online? Thanks!
ohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 07:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,541
Rewards Points: 2,396
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


iam thinking there is one or two in the living space somewhere...bigger registers in a hall somewhere or a main area of the house??????
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 07:21 PM   #8
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,714
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
iam thinking there is one or two in the living space somewhere...bigger registers in a hall somewhere or a main area of the house??????
that's what I was leaning toward in post 2...
the OP said no.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 07:24 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,541
Rewards Points: 2,396
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
that's what I was leaning toward in post 2...
the OP said no.
yep look at post #3 i NEED TO READ BETTER I bet thats the cold air filter boot...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 07:29 PM   #10
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


i didn't find the word HORIZONTAL within that manual those ID units can go vertical and horizontal without a different model ID.if you have no filter under the fan shroud slip a 1" one in...if you have that 20" return grill in the hallway put one there instead as long as you catch that return air...
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 07:42 PM   #11
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,714
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
yep look at post #3 i NEED TO READ BETTER I bet thats the cold air filter boot...
oi. I missed it too.

OP check it out:
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 02:33 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


Thanks for the Youtube video. I'm a bit confused now. I think we need to change the furnace filter, not the air filter. At the return register I couldn't find any filter installed right now.

Now that I think about it, what do folks think if I try to install some "register" air filter instead of "furnace filter" (see diagram below)?? Would I still be able to get the same effects or not?? Thoughts or comments? I still can't seem to find a way to open that blower chamber so that I can really replace/install the "furnace filter".. many thanks!!

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...cetuneupm.jpg/
ohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 05:32 AM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,084
Rewards Points: 3,828
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


Hopefully there is an air filter in the furnace. If you decide to use filters at the registers. You must remove the air filter from the furnace. If there is one in the furnace, it will be behind the blower panel.

While not the best set up. That furnace is a higher end unit, It was intended for higher end installs, where a media filter would be installed externally.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 06:30 AM   #14
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,823
Rewards Points: 284
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


remove the 2 screws holding the panel on that covers the blower (left one) and give it a good yank or pry it out. they can bend and get warped especially on vertical units and stick. look for silicone as it is possible the installer siliconed it on to prevent air whistling. I had that on one. high quality unit and the install looks decent so he may have removed the furnace filter and have it in the main return grill. that door HAS to come off to service the fan. get a cheap U shaped door handle from HDepot and attach it to that door if necessary to pull with/on.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ohman (01-04-2012)
Old 01-04-2012, 07:28 AM   #15
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace?


that shipped filter is there has to be packed for convience eye ball that hallway return to get a filter in there..couple of 2" shelf brackets screwed into the duct to stop the filter then reinstall the grill.don't go crazy trying to size a filter into the grill size keep it general sized 16x20x1...20x20x1..even bend or cut a 20x25x1 all availible at the home centers .if that filter is saturated within the furnace you need to check the squirrel cage on the supply fan for dust/dirt on the rounds...with no AC the dust just burns off going over the heat EX and she might of noticed a burn smell when she first ran the heat

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16-year old Bryant Plus-90 furnace phillip9 HVAC 5 03-05-2013 02:11 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Bryant 355MAV furnace Beaumont General DIY Discussions 8 10-22-2010 08:27 AM
first time startup on Bryant furnace - furnace calls for heat and will not stop luvheat HVAC 22 02-14-2009 09:56 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.