How Bad Did I Goof? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2012, 12:25 PM   #1
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 706
Rewards Points: 508
Default

How bad did I goof?


I was asking for some help last week about sizing the fresh air return, was decided thay a 20"x24" with a 14" duct would work.
Last week I got the all the ducts and floor register installed, did not have time to build the chase for return air. This is the only piece missing right now, will finish this weekend.
Is down draft, I left the top plenum off, and have been using it through the last week

Weird weather we have in fall, is 40's at night, low 80's in afternoon. So is not used much.
I am seeing a problem and trying to troubleshoot it. The t-stat set to 70, it comes on and runs for about 5-10 min and then shuts down, then 20 min later it comes on for 5 min and shuts down.
Just seems like it is not running long enough.
Or could it be the old used t-stat that has been riding around in the van for 2 years, I used just to see if the furnace worked?
Both will be fixed today, I suspect the fresh air, wondering if it will cause this problem?

Advertisement

funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:21 PM   #2
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 706
Rewards Points: 508
Default

How bad did I goof?


seems it was the t-stat, I replaced the wire and t-stat with new and moved it a few feet away from the furnace. And turned it up all the way and it never turned off until I turned it down.
I was just concerned I was causing damage by leaving the top plenum open.
At the local mom and pop plumbing and heating store, they assured me it would not cause damage.

Advertisement

funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 05:30 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,521
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

How bad did I goof?


See how it cycles tonight.

Yep, no harm running it without the return plenum on yet.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oops- smeared paint with Goof Off Cardioprimadona Painting 2 08-09-2012 09:47 PM
Goof While Painting Kitchen Cabinets Kelechim Painting 1 10-13-2010 07:35 PM
Will Goof Off work on these fiberglass guages? jojoma General DIY Discussions 3 08-11-2007 07:07 PM
TrafficMaster grout f.y.i. denman Flooring 16 07-01-2007 04:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts