Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2009, 04:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 334
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

How to add a new vent to an existing duct?


I have a 10 X 3 1/2 duct running thru my bathroom that I want to tap into for a new vent. What size vent and how do I go about doing this? i.e. What size hole to cut do I need to use an adhesive or sealant, materials, etc. Thanks.

tripower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 01:07 AM   #2
Member
 
GetYourShineBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to add a new vent to an existing duct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tripower View Post
I have a 10 X 3 1/2 duct running thru my bathroom that I want to tap into for a new vent. What size vent and how do I go about doing this? i.e. What size hole to cut do I need to use an adhesive or sealant, materials, etc. Thanks.
you can run a 4 inch duct pipe from your main supply trunk to the area you want.

GetYourShineBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 07:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to add a new vent to an existing duct?


What CFM you want?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 07:00 PM   #4
Old Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to add a new vent to an existing duct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tripower View Post
I have a 10 X 3 1/2 duct running thru my bathroom that I want to tap into for a new vent. What size vent and how do I go about doing this? i.e. What size hole to cut do I need to use an adhesive or sealant, materials, etc. Thanks.
What purpose does this existing duct serve?
I'm not a big fan of tapping new branch lines into existing ones.
Better to install a new branch from the main trunk.
tinmanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install new vent/register into existing duct work? Jughead HVAC 11 12-09-2010 05:08 PM
how to relocate existing vent for gas hot water tank rdf2026 HVAC 4 09-30-2008 06:38 PM
Venting bathroom vent thru dryer duct jredrocker HVAC 2 09-27-2008 10:25 PM
Tapping into existing metal duct Mike_Atlanta HVAC 1 11-30-2007 12:07 AM
Modifying existing duct work Thurgee HVAC 3 04-05-2007 09:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.