Hot House - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2009, 04:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
patandrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: lehigh acres fl
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hot house


ok guys my house was built in 2005 its 1740 sq ft with vaulted ceilings in th living room and kitchen. my ac is 1.5 ton. i live in sw fl and the temps are in the high 90s during the day and very rarely are the under 80 at night. i have my ac set for 75 and my house wont cool below 83. i have no windows on the east or west side of my house and the north and south side windows are shaded. we have shaded the ac unit outside and the air handler is in the closet inside the house. the only opening to the attic is in the garage. all the windows and doors are sealed tight no air gets out or in. the ac runs constantly during the day. i guess i should also mention the ac unit is new just put in 2 months ago. i cant get my house to cool down. any suggestions on why it wont cool and what i can do to get my house to cool down? i have read some of the other posts but they just havent helped.

Advertisement

patandrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 05:08 PM   #2
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

hot house


If its only 2 months old then you should have the instalation company out to check it out. It should still be under warranty.

Advertisement

hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 05:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,403
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

hot house


My house was the same way. Even with a new A/C unit, the house wasn't cooling (except for the basement). I'm not sure this is the answer to your problem, but my attic wasn't sealed, ventilated properly or insulated nearly enough.

I sealed it, fixed the ventilation problem and brought the insulation from R-19 up to R-56 (approx.).

Now, when I've had my central air on this summer, the upstairs and basement feel like they're the same temp.
gma2rjc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 05:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

hot house


Do you know if the vaulted ceilings have proper insulation & venting?
Is there a ridge vent & soffit vents installed?
Light colored roof or dark?
Check the attic insulation too
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 06:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Rewards Points: 250
Default

hot house


Did the contractor do a detailed load calculation to arrive at 1.5T for your home? (or did they guess) Get them back out to your home and have them get it right.

1.5T sounds pretty wimpy for 1700+ sq ft, high humidity, high heat, vaulted ceilings, etc. The load calculation will give you that answer. After that it's a matter of tracking down other issues such as low air flow, ductwork problems, installation issues, etc.
hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 06:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
patandrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: lehigh acres fl
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hot house


first of all thanks for the replys.
there are ridge vents at the peak and soffits going all the way around the house. the roof is dark. as for the insulation my husband said its very well insulated he said its a foot thick. do you know if the insulation is to extend to the soffits or should there be a certain distance from it? and also in the 4 bedrooms there are intakes that have 1 ft by 1 ft filters. and in the hallway we have the handler with a 2 ft by 2 ft filter. if the 2 rooms face direct sunlight during the day would the heat drawn into those filters cause the ac to work more. should we block the bedroom intakes or just leave them the way they are?
patandrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 11:40 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

hot house


WOW... 1.5 ton unit? My 10x8 shed has a 1 ton window unit!!! My house which is 2300sf has a 4 ton. I live in NE Florida...
deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 11:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

hot house


sounds mighty small for almost 2,000 sf. why does a 4 yr old home have a new unit? any idea what size unit was originally there?

try mrhvac.com and do your own heat load calculation, the link is all the way at the bottom of the page

Last edited by kennzz05; 07-17-2009 at 12:01 AM.
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 12:00 PM   #9
Newbie
 
patandrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: lehigh acres fl
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hot house


the house is 4 yrs old but we just bought it 2 months ago. the ac was stolen and when we bought the house the bank had to put a new ac in. we have had the ac man back out but he said it was working fine that there was nothing wrong. it just doesnt seem right that it runs almost constantly and nevers cools the house down below 83. we have the electric company coming out to do an energy survey to see what they can find. hopefully they can give us some answers and be able to help us fix the problem. thanks for your suggestions.
patandrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 12:47 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

hot house


It's too small! :=)
Dave Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 01:36 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

hot house


Yes... Dave's right... your answer is: it's too small.
deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 02:51 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

hot house


I'm not an HVAC guy, but one ton = 12,000 BTU
So you have 18,000 BTU in 1740 sq ft

I have 26,000 BTU cooling my 1st floor -1500 sq ft & I'm in New England
This includes a sunroom with an 11' ceiling
How insulated is "very well insulated" ?
Hopefully at least R38 or more in the attic, one foot thick should be R38

Do the ceilingsever feel warm/hot?
That would be an indication that heat is radiating down from the attic

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 10:04 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
Trane XR12 1.5 ton-Too small for my house? Badfish740 HVAC 7 09-23-2009 06:48 AM
I have Central Heating & Air, but house won't cool down..HELP!! exiledone1 HVAC 13 07-10-2009 11:09 PM
Brick and block house footer question. ourzoo Building & Construction 2 07-01-2006 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts