Hot House - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2012, 09:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hot House


I know very little about this so don't laugh. We just bought our house and the first thing we noticed was that we cant keep the ground floor cool(less than 78degrees with AC running constantly). We have a Lennox C33-48C-2F unit. House is 4000sq ft. It was only 2000sq ft before the previous owner built out the basement. Is this unit large enough for this house? Should it have been upgraded when they added the basement?
A couple of other points of interest. The basement is always colder, nearly 4 degrees cooler than the upstairs. The utility room where the unit is sitting is in the far west of the basement/house and it is always very cold, easily 15 degrees(im guesssing) colder than the upstairs.

We don't have the money to spend a lot on fixing this as most of our money went into the purchase of the house. Are there some suggestions of things I can do myself to improve the situation? Or does it take a pro to fix?

Advertisement

Chris_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hot House


at first glance the unit would not seem big enough by what you are saying (twice the square footage than original design). Try to close some of the vent in the areas that are too cool. this should push more a/c to the areas that are too hot. Don't close more than 20% of you total vents and you should not negatively effect the system.

If that does not work have the unit check out by pro. Might try to get estimates on new systems, done by contractors who will do a load calc. Estimates should be free or little cost get at least 3. this will let you know the size you need.

Don't tell the contractors what the other size the unit at. If you do some may not due the load calc.

Advertisement

turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 11:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Hot House


You have a 4 ton unit which is usually too big for a 2000 sq ft house.....and probably real close for the 4000 sq. ft. That of course depends on insulation, climate, windows, structure, etc. The basement usuallly doesn't need too much since it's buried in the ground. Is it a walkout? I'd suspect that if the unit is running correctly your issue is ductwork or lack of. A qualified contractor can tell you this quickly with proper air flow measurement along with return and supply temperature measurement. How old is the house and where are you located?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My house's previous owner - DIY horror stories Leah Frances General DIY Discussions 128 03-18-2014 07:41 AM
Attaching wood fence to house TheCowGod Building & Construction 5 04-13-2012 04:57 PM
Attach ledger to vinyl sided house JamyTheBuilder Building & Construction 3 03-14-2012 03:54 PM
I have Central Heating & Air, but house won't cool down..HELP!! exiledone1 HVAC 13 07-10-2009 11:09 PM
Moving a House 70 miles- Practical? GOTHICrevivalRULES Building & Construction 19 11-27-2008 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts