Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2010, 04:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell Wireless YTH6320


Hi,

I own an apartment building where all units are heated by one boiler. The thermostat is currently located in one of the apartments and is wired to the boiler system. There are only two wires, one red and one white coming from the boiler system to the current, fairly new Honeywell thermostat. The wires are connected to the R and the W terminals.

I am attempting to wire the EIM from my new Honeywell wireless YTH6320 system using these two wires. So far, the red wire is connected to the R on the EIM and the white wire is connected to the C terminal on the EIM. With these connections, the EIM powers up and the remote thermostat connects. However, when the thermostat tries to turn on the boiler, the HEAT light on the EIM turns on with an audible click, but the boiler does not turn on.

Can anyone help with this? Do I need a new common, and if so, how do I go about setting this up.

Thanks in advance.

Tway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 05:39 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,051
Rewards Points: 3,766
Default

Honeywell Wireless YTH6320


Post the model number of the boiler control. You may or may not have a true common on your boiler.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 06:02 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell Wireless YTH6320


It is a Honeywell CT3600 or equivalent.
Tway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 07:03 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,051
Rewards Points: 3,766
Default

Honeywell Wireless YTH6320


A CT3600 is a thermostat. Not a boiler control.

What is the model number of the boiler control.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 08:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell Wireless YTH6320


First of all it's an old oil burner converted to gas. The boiler itself is easily 50-60 years old.

Here is the equipment I see on the unit:

The circulator pump is labeled s55xzsby-2762.
The burner is called Economite, Model number 400n 02 and Serial number e5531

The boiler itself is American Radiator Water Company made by Ideal of Chicago, model number w195
There is a White Rodgers dual control -- with a hi and lo limiter.

The red and white thermostat wires are pigtailed into the relay. The electric relay runs the circulator pump. It also runs out to an on/off switch. That switch is where the incoming power comes from. The thermostat wires also split into the dual control. The line runs out of the dual control to the burner. 120 power is supplied to the burner through a separate on/off switch.

(this is tway's wife translating what tway is saying over the phone so excuse any botched descriptions. he will be sending photos if possible.)
Tway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 09:10 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,051
Rewards Points: 3,766
Default

Honeywell Wireless YTH6320


You don't have a true common.

So a 120 volt to 24 volt transformer has to be added to power the EIM. The 24 volt power from teh transformer will connect to R and C of the EIM. Have to remove the jumper from R to RH.

Then the thermostat wires will go to the RH and W terminals of the EIM.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 10:16 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell Wireless YTH6320


Thanks. You have been so helpful to so many on here.

Could you help me out with a brief explanation of where the transformer will be installed and what type you would recommend? I should be able to wire things directly to my equipment so I won't have to run wires up to the apartments.
Tway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 04:37 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,051
Rewards Points: 3,766
Default

Honeywell Wireless YTH6320


This one is a universal mount. https://www.grainger.com/Grainger/HO...nsformer-2GZC8

Or you can gt them already mounted on a 4X4 cover plate.

Wire it into the boilers 120 volt line that comes from the service disconnect switch. That way, when the switch is turned off. The transformer is also powered down. And it is safe to move the wires if need be.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell TrueSteam wont work! Stewart Daniel General DIY Discussions 18 12-20-2010 08:41 AM
Honeywell wired and wireless? stephmoreland HVAC 8 09-23-2010 08:33 PM
Replace Trane Weathertron (Baystat 339) with Honeywell RTH2410 ammiller2 HVAC 0 12-12-2009 10:50 PM
Need a programmable thermostat. LUX or Honeywell. speedster1 HVAC 37 12-06-2009 09:33 AM
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 05:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.