Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2013, 05:21 PM   #1
I26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


Hello,

I am trying to install a new Honeywell T-Stat, RTH8580WF, to replace my current Honeywell T8011R. The trouble I am running in to is what to do with the W1 and W2 wires. I currently have wires going to terminals G, C, R, W1, W2, O. Honeywell said to connect G to G, C to C, R to R, W1 (tape off), W2 to W2, O to O/B.

Will this bypass the heat pump and run auxiliary heat all the time? I have a heat pump and plenum that provides auxiliary heat when the heat pump cannot keep up.

Thanks for helping.

I26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 05:40 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


Is w1 currently jumpered to Y on the current stat?

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 05:47 PM   #3
I26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


Yes, W1 and Y are jumpered together on the current t-stat.
I26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 06:03 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


The wire from W1 will go to Y1.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 06:08 PM   #5
I26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


Sorry but I am confused. The new T-Stat has the following terminals: L, E/AUX, K, RC, R, O/B, Y, G, C.

Should it go to Y?
I26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 06:12 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


Yes, sorry, it should go to Y
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 06:14 PM   #7
I26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


If this turns out to be wrong will it cause any damage to the system? Not trying to lay blame, just curious is all. Thank you for your help.
I26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 06:18 PM   #8
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


It is correct, I'll show you......https://customer.honeywell.com/resou...0s/69-1436.pdf page 3 and no, it wont cause damage because it is right
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 06:21 PM   #9
I26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


Very nice. I will report back once I swap it out. Again, thank you.
I26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 07:19 PM   #10
I26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


I am supposed to set the thermostat system function to 0190 to 0 meaning heat pump changeover valve (for heat pumps only) the 0 means Cooling changeover valve (use this setting if you connected a wire labeled O to O/B.

When trying to set this it skips over the 0190, any ideas?
I26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 07:25 PM   #11
I26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


Nevermind for now, I had to set something else first.
I26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 08:01 PM   #12
I26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


So far it appears that everything is working as planned. Thank you so much for the help.
I26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 09:00 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


I'm attempting to also hookup a Honeywell Wifi Thermostat, but I have the RTH9580WF.

Here is our previous thermostat:

We hooked up the new one the following way as I thought it state in the manual:
C wire into C.
R into R.
Y into Y.
G to G.
L to L.
O into the W-O/B
W into W2-Aux/E

It doesn't seem to be working though, just curious if anyone has any input?

We were following Page 18/19 here in the manual that came with our unit, which is here:
http://www.wifithermostat.com/Resour.../69-2809ES.pdf
Bonita2208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 09:12 PM   #14
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonita2208
I'm attempting to also hookup a Honeywell Wifi Thermostat, but I have the RTH9580WF.

Here is our previous thermostat:

We hooked up the new one the following way as I thought it state in the manual:
C wire into C.
R into R.
Y into Y.
G to G.
L to L.
O into the W-O/B
W into W2-Aux/E

It doesn't seem to be working though, just curious if anyone has any input?

We were following Page 18/19 here in the manual that came with our unit, which is here:
http://www.wifithermostat.com/Resour.../69-2809ES.pdf
Did u turn off power first?
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 09:14 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help


Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC1000 View Post
Did u turn off power first?
Yes, turned power off at the breaker prior to unhooking/hooking everything up, turned it back on after everything was hooked up.

I should have been more specific on the part where it doesn't seem to be working - The fan will come on when we turn it to on, but the compressor/A/C didn't seem to be coming on.

Bonita2208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing a Carrier thermostat with a Honeywell thermostat Fred Lambrerth HVAC 2 07-11-2012 05:02 PM
Question about connecting wires to the RTH2300 (honeywell) thermostat crap_at_diy HVAC 3 11-26-2011 10:50 PM
Thermostat issues rathipon HVAC 4 01-29-2011 11:46 AM
Honeywell thermostat wiring wcb22 HVAC 5 01-10-2011 05:54 AM
Installation of Honeywell Thermostat - cooling function KDW Electrical 0 10-04-2009 09:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.