Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2008, 08:14 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Share |
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


I was not going to use set back because of the reason you stated about not saving on energy. If you feel I should I can purchase the outdoor sensor & wire that in in the future.

infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 08:21 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


probably a good idea to purchase outdoor sensor & wire it in. It seem like it may be the best setup? How do you feel about this.
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 08:29 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


In the instruction manual is shows there is a system test at the end of the setup functions ( Installer System Test). If you go into that menu it shows testing the cooling system is the first item on the test. Can you bypass the cooling test or is it just better to avoid it all together at this point. Do not want to test the AC in the weather we have here & damage my equipment. The instructions show this as the 1st test.

Last edited by infoskr; 12-15-2008 at 08:35 PM.
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:09 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


Thank you for your help beenthere. Appreciate the time spent.
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:19 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,371
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


On a heat pump, it won;t hurt it to run in cooling mode for a few minutes.
Every time it goes into defrost, its in cooling mode.

The outdoor sensor pays for its self, if you do use set back.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:25 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


I have no problem with installing the outdoor sensor see your point.
I am going to follow all your instructions to the letter, and again thank you very much for your time.
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:36 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


Hi, beenthere. Been following some of your posts to others here. Has been interesting. Some things to learn from it all. Also see that some people are a bit insane. You must have some unusual times in from of the ole PC.
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:40 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,371
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


Yep.
I do.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:52 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


So I guess you have lots of good stories at gatherings.
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:55 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by infoskr View Post
.....beenthere...... You must have some unusual times in front of the ole PC.
You have no idea!!

Beenthere is "the man" across multiple sites and have provided invaluble assistance to many...including yours truly (me)....

Not just homeowners but many many professionals seek his councel

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 10:02 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


I feel very thankful and now honored by his help
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 10:06 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


After reading some of the Dangerous and insane things some people are doing you just hope that one of them is not your neighbor, who may blow up, burn their home to the ground or worse.
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 04:20 AM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,371
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


Thanks Key.

There are a lot of repairs and installs. That just make you cringe when you come upon them.

And you do run into some humorous things also.

I have been attacked by dogs.
Stuck in the snow after midnight.
Swung at by a guy that thought I was going to mug him(real bad section of a city).
Received some real good tips.
Been offered sex as payment.
Called a theif.
Called a saint.
Not been paid.
Gone to the wrong house, and serviced a furnace.
Stuck on a roof, in Febuary, when it was 0F outside(you don't forget to tie off your ladder ever again after that).
Taken a couple trips to the emergency room.
Wrecked a van going to a call, on an icy road, and found out later the guy hadn't had a working furnace for 3 years. But his mother inlaw was coming for dinner that Sunday. And he didn't want her to know they only used a kerosene heater.

And that was just last month.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 06:57 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


ROFL



And why was it again I should become a HVACer

Oh yeah...The sex for payment part.....


Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 11:43 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 62
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yea, 9 is way out of line.

I generally set cycle rates to 3 for compressor, aux heat, and emergency heat.
Some times, I'll set the aux to 2, if I want the aux heat to satisfy the heat call and not run the compressor 24/7 when the outdoor temp is below balance point.


Do you have 0170, set to 7.

Wouldn't changing the Aux. cycle from the recommended 9 to 2 or 3 make the aux come on less frequently than nine?

jeepgrady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell Thermostat Wiring Differences DavidHwang HVAC 16 01-28-2012 02:11 PM
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 04:43 AM
Wiring/Programming of a Honeywell TH8320 Thermostat homrjheath HVAC 4 10-15-2008 01:30 PM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.