Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2011, 08:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


I'm having problems with a Honeywell VisionPro 8321U short cycling. It seems like as soon as the furnace cuts off, it starts right back up.

It's currently set to 5 cycles per hour, which is what's recommended for the Goodman GMH80453AN (45,000 BTU Gas Furnace, 80% Efficiency, with 2-Stage Burner and 1,200 CFM Multi-Speed Blower) it's controlling.

Is this a problem with the Honeywell thermostat or should I simply reduce the number of cycles? If it's the latter, how many cycles per hour should I set it at?

kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:15 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


start out lowering your cph to 3. it may be the stat location and or you may be losing heat that quickly. New stats are really built more for comfort (maintaining temp) then efficiency

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
start out lowering your cph to 3. it may be the stat location and or you may be losing heat that quickly. New stats are really built more for comfort (maintaining temp) then efficiency
Interesting. I never considered the thermostat location, but it's right next to a 20' x 22' two story open family room that's probably sucking up all the hot air from the first floor.

This particular house has two furnaces, one on the first floor, a smaller one on the second. How much of a temperature spread should I allow between the two units to compensate for the large family room, or is there some other secret to heating this type of floorplan?
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:37 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


move stat to adjoining hallway and or put fan on 24/7to circulate the aire
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
move stat to adjoining hallway and or put fan on 24/7to circulate the aire
As opposed to using the "Circulate" feature built-in to the thermostat?
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:46 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kcrossley2 View Post
As opposed to using the "Circulate" feature built-in to the thermostat?
you can use the circ function, but may not be enough to over come the space
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:48 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
you can use the circ function, but may not be enough to over come the space
How much electricity does the furnace fan use? Also, can it handle 24/7 operation?
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:01 PM   #8
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


it uses enough to notice a difference in the electric bill. and yes it can handle 24/7
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:46 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


5 CPH is too many, I don;t care what Honeywell says in their instructions.

First, make sure its the thermostat doing this, and not your furnace shutting off on high limit or some other safety.

Next, make sure the thermostat and furnace are wired for 2 stage operation. And not just using the furnace's timer to go to second stage. Then make sure the hole in the wall where the wires come through is sealed. Then reset the thermostat's CPH to 3 for both first and second stage.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:55 AM   #10
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Next, make sure the thermostat and furnace are wired for 2 stage operation. And not just using the furnace's timer to go to second stage.
Been,

if I am correct this furnace only has a w1 terminal on the control and upstaging is timed. I don't know why goodman did this but you can't use a 2 stage stat with this furnace. it can be set for 10 min timer or what they call auto. I'm not sure how auto function works.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 11:13 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


Your right. I missed that its a GMH.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 01:06 PM   #12
HVAC Installer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Troy, MO
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


I think your problem is simpler than cycle rate. pull out your installation manual and check to see if in the program there is an option to change the stat from economy to comfort. Flip it over is economy, this should force the stat to reach a larger temp drop before engaging the furnace. it should also over run the temp by a degree to have fewer cycles per hour. Good Luck
LukeROttinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 03:31 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


TH8321 doesn't have a comfort setting. Its a comfort thermostat, and is CPH only.

Part of the problem is his 5 CPH. The next part is most likely that the furnace is over sized.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:20 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


HVAC tech stopped by today and said the problem is the gas valve in the furnace is sticking and needs to be replaced. The strange thing is I had another tech out here last week (from a competing company), who said nothing was wrong with the furnace.

Does this sound on the up and up? Also, will a sticking gas valve exhibit this kind of behavior?

Last edited by kcrossley2; 01-17-2011 at 10:23 AM.
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 06:09 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

Honeywell VisionPro Short Cycling?


A sticking gas valve generally has nothing to do with short cycling.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rheem 80% Furnace Short Cycling rlukas79 HVAC 0 12-19-2010 03:27 AM
Honeywell VisionPro IAQ YTH9421C1002 Wiring Help jond777 HVAC 0 11-22-2010 09:22 PM
Goodman & Honeywell Vision Pro Short Cycling tpirovol HVAC 8 12-23-2009 05:55 PM
Problem with Burnham Oil Furnace short cycling Catherine M Brown HVAC 13 01-29-2009 10:58 AM
HVAC Short Cycling Redparis HVAC 2 02-26-2008 10:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.