Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-23-2012, 12:10 PM   #1

Share |

Honeywell Visionpro 8000 questions

Good afternoon all and thanks for such a valuable forum. My situation is this: I live in south GA and have a 4 ton heat pump on my lower level. I recently changed the thermostat to a Visionpro8000 (model TH8321U1006). Everything worked great for air conditioning during the summer but I've run into some issues with heating. Per the efficiency guidelines in the manual I have a 6 degree setback during the night (62 degrees changing to 68 at 5:30am). What concerns me is that regardless of the outside temperature the unit always uses strip heat to reach my set temperature which is killing any energy savings that the adaptive intelligent recovery is supposed to give. This happens if it's 30 degrees outside and the temp has dropped all the way to 62 or if it's 55 outside and the temp has only dropped to 66. Additionally some days the heat either comes on too early or too late which I believe is related to our constantly changing nighttime temps. I had hoped to install the outdoor sensor (which is the reason I went with the upgraded visionpro 8000)but I've since discovered that there is no way for me to run another wire to my thermostat based on its location. At this point I'm considering replacing it with a visionpro IAQ since I could use the existing wire to run the stat (only using three of the existing wires and terminating the rest) and mount the iaq "brainbox" in the attic on the unit. I would then be able to run another wire for the outdoor sensor directly to the soffet. Does this sound reasonable and if so can I expect to eliminate the strip heat issue (by adjusting the lockout to say 35 degrees) and by sensing the outdoor temp would the stat be able to do a better job of hitting my target temp at the right time with the adaptive intelligent recovery? I apologize for