Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2009, 10:24 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 146
Share |
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


Honeywell TrueSTEAM Humidifier with TrueIAQ Digital Control

Page 15 for True IAQ setup.
http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...69-2036EFS.pdf

1- I'd like to have the auto-operation mode as denoted in note B on the diagram. It states: "also wire W and G to thermostat W and G". My question is where W and G wires they are referring to originate from to eventually wire up at the thermostat W and G terminals?

2- They recommend an Air Flow Switch to be installed inline of the C wire running from HVAC to TrueSTEAM - Internal. Do I need this AFS for operation?
mjbxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 06:36 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


You can just pig tail from the furnaces W and G to the True IAQ.

It just tells the IAQ that there is a call for heat and fan operation.

The air flow switch, is a safety. That you can get away with out using.
But, if your blower were to ever fail, you would end up with a soaked duct, possible damage to the furnace, and possible mold after ward.

PS: you may have the old diagram, it still ships with some units.

Try this one.
http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...0s/69-2072.pdf
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 09:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 146
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


Goodman AEPF wiring diagram page 4 top diagram; http://www.acdirect.com/xcart/images...cts/IO-287.PDF

What would the W wire be considered on a heat pump that connects to thermostat?
mjbxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 09:38 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


Depends on the stat.

If your stat has a W1/O B terminal. And then a W2 terminal, it wires to the WW2 of the air handler.
Your E teminal of the stat would go to EW1 terminal of teh air handler. And you would clip the jumper.

The easy way. Is to jumper the stats E, and W2 terminal at the stat, and run both of them to the WW2 of the air handler, and don't cut the P4 jumper in the air handler.
That way, both banks of strip come on at the same time, if you have 2 banks.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 146
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


RS Thermostat page 5 sample 1 and page 6 for terminal legend; http://www.icca.invensys.com/manuals.../110-1044B.pdf

You stated, "You can just pig tail from the furnaces W and G to the TrueIAQ."

The True IAQ manual page 10(http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...0s/69-2072.pdf) states that W wire is, "W input to sense when the thermostat is calling for heat. Active when R is applied."

Understanding that this is a heat pump, I am looking for the appropriate wire, from the thermostat, that would indicate a call for heat to be connected to the W wire on the TrueIAQ.
mjbxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:54 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


Duh, a heat pump.
Went right over my head, when you asked the about the W.

You don't use the W input on heat pumps.

You use the G input.

On a heat pump the W is only activated for aux heat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 09:03 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 146
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


Page 15; http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...69-2036EFS.pdf

Note B - For auto-operation: also wire W and G to thermostat W and G.

Do I connect W and G wires to G on thermostat?

TrueIAQ.............Thermostat(Heat Pump)
W......................G
G.......................G

or just go this route connecting W to G on thermostat and omit the G to G connection on thermostat connection?

TrueIAQ.............Thermostat(Heat Pump)
W.....................G
mjbxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 09:21 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


You can connect the G and W wires to the G and W of the stat.

The W of the IAQ, will only sence when the thermostat, energizes aux heat.
Not when it is using the heat pump for heat.

Thats why you use the G for heat pumps.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 12:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 146
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


If I understand you correctly, the G wire from a heat pump would indicate to TrueIAQ that there is a call for heat. Therefore, I should connect the W wire from TrueIAQ to the G wire from thermostat(heat pump). This would allow me to set the TrueIAQ contol to operate only when there is a call for heat. Does this sound correct?
mjbxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 04:26 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


NO.

If you want it to only operate during a heat call.
You will have to use an isolation relay, if your heat pump de energizes the RV in heat mode(connected to the stats O terminal).

You would need a relay with a set of normally closed contacts.
Then. You would wire one side of its coil to the common of the air handler or IAQ. The other side would wire to the O terminal of the thermostat or air handler, if its wired to teh air handler.

Then one side of the relays contacts would wire to the Y terminal of the thermostat or air handler, and the other side would wire to the W terminal of the IAQ.


If the RV energizes in heat mode(connected to the stats B terminal), then the W of the IAQ would get connected to the B Therminal.


Why do you want to cripple the Truesteam?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 10:04 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 146
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


Not looking to cripple the system. I figure if Truesteam allows for auto operation, as per note B, why not have the ability to run in heat only mode as an option? in any event, the Truesteam seems to be running fine the way it is wired according to diagram.
mjbxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 01:25 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Honeywell TrueSTEAM with TrueIAQ Digital Control


It doesn't need to sense if the furnace is running or not to humidify. When set up for to humdify without heat.

Generally, if a steamer can put enough moisture in the air byonly working when the furnace is heating.
You don't need a steamer.

Its your call though.

Take care.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control GhostBuster HVAC 14 12-19-2008 12:28 AM
Honeywell TrueSteam Direct-Injection Humidifier jaymes HVAC 3 12-01-2008 03:25 PM
Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier? kcrossley2 HVAC 3 12-01-2008 03:22 PM
Carrier Infinity Control VS Honeywell VisionPRO 8000 Theromostat super_man4471 HVAC 2 04-26-2007 02:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.