Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2009, 09:35 AM   #16
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Share |
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgbehrends View Post
..... I'm working on connecting it to my IAQ environzone board and then I'll be able to fix those settings. .... I should have the HRV connected to my IAQ system soon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If yoou have an evirozone panel.
Why not hook your HRV to it.
I'm working on it.

__________________
D in MN
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:03 AM   #17
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Didn't figure out for a bypass.

But, for the Aprilaire 700 power humidifier, connected to the hot water line, and water at a temp of 120°F.

It would take the Aprilaire 700, 6.23 hours to put the same amount of moisture in the air.
It would use 1121.22 gallons of water total for the month.
It would cause the water heater to use 8.064 therms of gas more a month if the water heater is 80% efficient.

This is calculated for the humidifier to add all the moisture without the furnace running to supply additional heat to the water.

If the furnace were to run, it would lower the water consumption, and the gas usage of the water heater.
And make a slight increase in the gas the furnace consumes. How much depends on how efficient the water heater is.

The Truesteam is a good humidifier for tight houses that the furnace doesn't run much, and no room to install a powered humidifier.
Does the 700A need to be interlocked with the Furnace Fan, or does it generate enough cfm on its own to push the humidity into the house?

EDIT: I just found this paragraph in the manual for the 700A
"Except forModels 350 and 360, the Aprilaire humidifier is installed to operate in conjunction with the heating, ventilating, air conditioning equipment (HVAC) blower motor.When the Aprilaire humidifier Control calls for humidity and the blower motor is operating, water flows to the distribution tray located at the top of the humidifier. The water is uniformly distributed across the width of the tray and through a scientifically designed system of outlets. It flows by gravity over theWater PanelŪ evaporator, the heart of the humidifier. Dry, hot air is moved through the moisture-laden Water Panel evaporator where natural evaporation takes place. The now-humidified air carrying moisture in vapor form (nature’s own way) is circulated throughout the home."

So the answer is yes it must be interlocked.
__________________
D in MN

Last edited by dgbehrends; 01-12-2009 at 10:09 AM.
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 03:04 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Yep.

Any humidifier that is mounted to a furnaces duct system, uses the furnaces blower to circulate teh humidified air.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:21 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Hi,
I just had a True Steam humidifier with IAQ installed yesterday. I have a 4200sq/ft house that is fairly tight. I keep the indoor temp between 72 and 74. The outdoor temp has ranged between 5 and 20 the last couple of days. And my indoor RH setting is 40. The last 24 hours after I had it installed, the RH is around 30 to 32. Any idea how long I have to wait to reach RH of 40.
rextor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 10:36 AM   #20
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Quote:
Originally Posted by rextor View Post
Hi,
I just had a True Steam humidifier with IAQ installed yesterday. I have a 4200sq/ft house that is fairly tight. I keep the indoor temp between 72 and 74. The outdoor temp has ranged between 5 and 20 the last couple of days. And my indoor RH setting is 40. The last 24 hours after I had it installed, the RH is around 30 to 32. Any idea how long I have to wait to reach RH of 40.
Your house seems similar to mine so if I had to guess (assuming you had a 12gallon installed) maybe around 8 hours if your house is actually tight. Your indoor air temp is a little higher than mine so it will take longer to humidifier the air. The hotter you keep it the dryer it will be. I would say that an RH of 40 is a little high based upon this link's recommendation http://www.home-smart.org/how_your_h...ef=795:HYHW_LN
I would shoot for around 35% humidity but that's just my opinion not taking into consideration any thing in your home that has very strict IAQ requirements. BTW it was -26 here last night. Cheers.
__________________
D in MN
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 03:45 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Thanks for your replying Ken,

What is your maximum RH reading during this winter? My True Steam can only reach up to 33 even my setting is 40.
rextor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 03:52 PM   #22
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


When I first got it installed my RH was 30% and it took 1 hour to get it to 34%. The weather was a mild 15 degrees outside. Since then the temp has plummeted and I haven't let the RH get above 25%. If I do my windows start to frost up pretty bad. Right now I tolerate some frost with an RH around 20. I get a lot more frost when I leave my cellular blinds closed so I have to be really careful about opening them up in the morning so that I don't have a river running off my window sill.
__________________
D in MN
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 03:55 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Hi dgbehrends,

Thanks for your replying. What is your maximum RH reading during this winter? My 12 gallon True Steam can only reach up to 33 of RH even my setting is 40.
rextor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 04:02 PM   #24
Member
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Central IL
Posts: 94
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


I have put in three true steams.

one 9 gal two 12 gal

The two 12gal. are in the same house 5600 sqft. The best I can achieve after 6 weeks running 24/7 is 33 upstairs (nice) but only 24% on the main floor. Had the Honeywell rep out today and he is going to bring out an engineer next week.

Tight house no erv or hrv fire place dampers are closed and well fit.

Here is my question have any of you had trouble getting the humidity up? 24 gal a day should handle 6000 sqft.
Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 04:35 PM   #25
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Heat View Post
I have put in three true steams.

one 9 gal two 12 gal

The two 12gal. are in the same house 5600 sqft. The best I can achieve after 6 weeks running 24/7 is 33 upstairs (nice) but only 24% on the main floor. Had the Honeywell rep out today and he is going to bring out an engineer next week.

Tight house no erv or hrv fire place dampers are closed and well fit.

Here is my question have any of you had trouble getting the humidity up? 24 gal a day should handle 6000 sqft.
On another board I have seen people complain about the truesteam not working for them. I think in some of those situations the house was too loose for the truesteam to keep up. In my case I set an RH meter on one of my main floor vents and watch the humidity climb, my IAQ stat followed suit. It went from 30% to 34% in an hour, with temps of around 15 outside and 68 inside, in my 4000sq tight house.
__________________
D in MN
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 04:41 PM   #26
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Quote:
Originally Posted by rextor View Post
Hi dgbehrends,

Thanks for your replying. What is your maximum RH reading during this winter? My 12 gallon True Steam can only reach up to 33 of RH even my setting is 40.
Since I have had my truesteam installed the highest was 34%, I won't let it get higher due to frost on my windows. Before the truesteam the RH% would stay in the 40% range with 20-40 degree temps outside. If I kicked on my HRV it would drop and it would slowly come up if I didn't run my HRV, but my house would get stale and smell of last nights dinner in the morning.
__________________
D in MN
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 05:49 AM   #27
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgbehrends View Post
Since then the temp has plummeted and I haven't let the RH get above 25%. If I do my windows start to frost up pretty bad. Right now I tolerate some frost with an RH around 20. I get a lot more frost when I leave my cellular blinds closed so I have to be really careful about opening them up in the morning so that I don't have a river running off my window sill.
IIRC, you mentioned that you have a VisionPro IAQ. Did you install the external temp sensor ($20)? It will allow the Tstat to automatically adjust the inside humidity when the external temperature changes in order to prevent more frost from forming. It should be an easy install if the area around the furnace is near an unfinished outside wall. The leads on the sensor can be extended with 18/2 tstat wire up to 200 ft. I get my TrueSteam in a few days. I can't wait.

Ryan
diab0lus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 07:57 AM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Tight construction is a term used loosely by many builders.

With out a blower door test, no way to know for sure what it is.
It could easily be .33(average infiltration) or more.

Do they have a lot of in and out the doors(kids).

What are your ouotdoor temps and humidity conditions?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:40 PM   #29
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Heat View Post
I have put in three true steams.

one 9 gal two 12 gal

The two 12gal. are in the same house 5600 sqft. The best I can achieve after 6 weeks running 24/7 is 33 upstairs (nice) but only 24% on the main floor. Had the Honeywell rep out today and he is going to bring out an engineer next week.

Tight house no erv or hrv fire place dampers are closed and well fit.

Here is my question have any of you had trouble getting the humidity up? 24 gal a day should handle 6000 sqft.

What did the engineer say?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 07:40 PM   #30
Member
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Central IL
Posts: 94
Default

Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
What did the engineer say?
He said and I quote "gee the 12 gal. is the biggest we sell and you have two that should be enough but well I guess your F'd ) " ok so I did paraphrase a bit.

Instead of an engineer I got a salesman. He took some pics mumbled and said these are too small.

My general contractor will never use Honeywell again nor will I. At least when you call April Air they just don't return the call.

Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 04:43 AM
Help with humidifier walker45 HVAC 15 01-04-2008 10:02 PM
Humidifier & Thermostat BigD HVAC 1 12-19-2007 08:04 PM
Changing from one Honeywell to another... LeroyFrick HVAC 1 11-03-2007 11:33 AM
Honeywell Humidifier dcd22 HVAC 5 11-01-2007 08:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.