Honeywell Thermostat Wiring - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2011, 08:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell thermostat wiring


I have an old Honeywell Round T87F non-programmable thermostat that I'd like to replace with a new Honeywell RTH7500D programmable thermostat. The thermostat controls an American Standard Freedom 80 single-stage furnace and air conditioner (which heats our bedroom level) and has an additional thermostat in our third floor loft. Connected to my old thermostat, I have the following wires: B, G, Y, W, R, O. How do I connect this to my new thermostat? The "conventional" connections on the new thermostat are labeled: C, G, Y, W, RC, R, W2, Y2. The "heat pump" connections on the new thermostat are labeled: C, G, Y, O/B, RC, R, Aux, E, L. Thanks for your help.

Advertisement

wcb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 09:11 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell thermostat wiring


do you have a heat pump? is this t-stat you are replacing for the heating only? and the other stat for cooling only?

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 09:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell thermostat wiring


Yes, I do believe I have a heat pump. The unit is located in my attic and heats our 2nd floor bedroom level (where the thermostat I'm trying to replace is located) and our 3rd floor loft level (where the other thermostat is located). The other thermostat on the 3rd floor does not control heat/off/cool or fan/auto; it's just controls temperature.
wcb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 09:54 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,395
Rewards Points: 2,452
Default

Honeywell thermostat wiring


Doesn't anyone ever look at the booklets that come with their thermostat, or just toss it in the garbage can with the packaging. WCB22, if you have the book that came with it, it will show you. You need to just land the same wires that are on the existing thermostat on the same screws for the new one. Also, look at the manual for your furnace for the directions it gives on hooking up thermostats.

If you do not have either book, the manufacturer websites have the books available on them for downloading.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 10:16 PM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell thermostat wiring


this thermostat will not work. you need one with separate o and b terminals.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 06:54 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell thermostat wiring


Thanks, hvactech126.

Advertisement

wcb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 zone damper 2 thermostat wiring help kostia HVAC 10 08-22-2010 10:57 AM
Thermostat Heat Pump Wiring difficulties akg4y HVAC 8 04-15-2010 06:16 AM
Honeywell CT410B Wiring ericbig HVAC 0 02-23-2010 04:55 PM
Wiring a Honeywell ProVision TH8321U1006, upgrade from Weathertron Tstat drandersoninc HVAC 6 10-04-2009 04:20 PM
Wiring/Programming of a Honeywell TH8320 Thermostat homrjheath HVAC 4 10-15-2008 02:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts