Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2011, 07:33 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Honeywell TH8320U and Amana LP Furnace/AC


3 of these thermostats have failed in the last year. 2 were installed by the contractor who installed the system and 1 by a second installer. Both companies are well respected and have been in the business for decades. I emailed Honeywell and they wouldn't discuss my problem.

In any event, I don't think I'm going to attempt to fix my problem but am looking for possible problems that may have been overlooked. I also have a Aprilaire humidifier.

The labels on the board in the furnace are:

O
YLO
Y
B/C
G
R
W
W2
DEHUM

on the back of the thermostat (Conventional Columns) are:

Left side:
Y2
W2
S1
S2

Right side:
RC
R
W
Y
G
C

Can anyone shed some light on this or perhaps let me know if this thermostat is incompatible? When it worked, it seemed to work fine. Thanks


Last edited by t84a; 04-18-2011 at 07:45 AM.
t84a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 07:39 AM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell TH8320U and Amana LP Furnace/AC


yes, it will work.... when you say the thermostat failed, how did it fail, screen go bad or blank or did heat or air stop working? How is the humidifier wired?

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by hvactech126; 04-18-2011 at 07:54 AM.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 07:59 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Honeywell TH8320U and Amana LP Furnace/AC


The screen just scrolls through unreadable screens. The first failure, the heat came one and heated the house until I shut the furnace down. It was like 80 in the house. The second time, the heat didn't come on, the last time, I just happened to walk by the thermostat and it was blank. The best I can tell, the thermostat has 2 wires going to a transformer and 2 going to some type of relay that then one wire comes back hand hook to the RED wire coming from the thermostat and then connects to the R terminal. I'm hesitant to touch anything because I don't want to have to pay for a replacement. Thanks for the quick reply.
t84a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 08:08 AM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell TH8320U and Amana LP Furnace/AC


thermostat = furnace

Rc and R = R
W2 = W2
W = W
Y = Y
G = G
C = B/C


These are the standard connections that should be hooked up.......without knowing if you have a heat pump or 2 stage a/c I cant tell you what else should be hooked up. The humidifier should really have its own transformer. Do you have a lot of power outages or spikes?

Screen was blank..........did you check the batteries in stat if applicable? Stat may not be receiving 24V from furnace.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by hvactech126; 04-18-2011 at 08:11 AM.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 08:31 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Honeywell TH8320U and Amana LP Furnace/AC


Thanks. The latest thermostat lasted maybe a week. I have a 2 speed A/C unit outside if that answers your question. Like I said, there is some kind of extra relay or something on the side of the unit that has some fat wires that connect to the humidifier, some of the thermostat wires (either coming from the thermostat or going to the outside compressor) and the control board.
t84a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 07:53 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell TH8320U and Amana LP Furnace/AC


there may be an excessive amp draw though one of the components........the tech should check for that due to excessive amount of failure

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.