Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2010, 02:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell TH6000 series t-stat


It appears my new t-stat is registering 2+ degrees lower than actual air temp near unit. Checked with 1 digital and 1 analog thermometer. Both indicate 2+ error.

Is this normal, not typical or alien intervention?

Can it be fixed/reprogrammed or needs to be replaced?

remnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:10 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,528
Rewards Points: 2,736
Default

Honeywell TH6000 series t-stat


I guess you mean then the actual air temp at the thermostat?

Are you sure no cold air from a supply register is hitting it, or the wall its mounted on.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell TH6000 series t-stat


Thermometers are sitting on top of t-stat. So same air temp that is being registered by t-stat is hitting other 2 thermometers, since they are within a few inches of each other. Can't be much difference. Certainly not 2 degrees. Unless the Honeywell cools the air as it enters the t-stat air port/vent before it gets to the temp sensor?
remnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 03:10 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,528
Rewards Points: 2,736
Default

Honeywell TH6000 series t-stat


The Honeywell mounted to the wall does sense the wall temp.

Your could be defective. Is the hole in the wall where the wires come through sealed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 03:48 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell TH6000 series t-stat


Well usually there is a fudge factor in most all thermostats, usually they will claim + - 2 degrees or some other number, I would imagine this thermostat is no different, so the 2 degree difference is probably legitimate.
Dujulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 05:27 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,528
Rewards Points: 2,736
Default

Honeywell TH6000 series t-stat


The TH series doesn't have a fudge factor built into it. Or else there would be no use to saying it maintains temp to within 1.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
honeywell th6000 series thermostat Az Dan HVAC 5 07-20-2010 07:06 PM
Need a programmable thermostat. LUX or Honeywell. speedster1 HVAC 37 12-06-2009 08:33 AM
Honeywell stat wiring w/ Trane furnace JaePee HVAC 7 01-18-2009 06:50 AM
LUX digital stat Trane XE80 intermittant problem rossl56 HVAC 6 12-26-2008 05:53 AM
Which Stat for New Carrier 58 MV Chemist1961 HVAC 10 12-21-2008 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.