Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-19-2013, 04:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Honeywell TB6575


I just upgraded my fan coil thermostat from a Honeywell T6069A to a Honeywell TB6575 and it's all working great. I just have a question about one of the settings. I live in a small bachelor condo, so noise is an issue for me, by default, the new thermostat has a setting that always powers the fan on high for the first couple seconds of operation, then lowers it to the desired setting. The manual says "High speed start up ensures that there is enough torque to start the motor and eliminates and motor locking."

This makes quite a bit of noise, and i'd prefer to have it off. There's a setting to to disable this feature, but is there a real danger of my motor locking up if I turn this feature off? What would happen if the motor locked up?

slicecom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 04:27 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,061
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Honeywell TB6575


If the motor locks up. You'll have no heat until the motor is replaced. Most PSC motors(your blower motor is most likely a PSC motor) have sleeve bearings, and they need to get up to a high speed to start the lubrication process.

If you can run it at med speed, you should be okay. After all, your old thermostat didn't start the fan in high speed.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
slicecom (12-19-2013)
Old 12-19-2013, 09:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Honeywell TB6575


Thanks for the quick reply! I guess I'm more worried about an electrical fire or something if the motor locks (I really know nothing about how they work). I have supplemental heating that can fully heat my condo if the main fan coil goes down so if the worst thing that can happen is it locks and I have to replace it, and it's not very likely to happen, I'll keep it how it is (starting on low, not high).

I could re-wire the thermostat to replace the high speed with the medium one, so it starts on medium then goes to low, though the sound level of medium and high seems to be pretty similar, so it's probably not worth the trouble. I always run it on low to keep the noise down and because my place isn't large so it doesn't have to move the air very far. Thanks again for your help.
slicecom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to slicecom For This Useful Post:
beenthere (12-20-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell / Honeywell thermostat replacement question. FatBear HVAC 15 05-05-2014 01:15 AM
Problem: Replacing Honeywell T6960 with Honeywell TB6575 RT2020 HVAC 1 07-21-2012 02:05 AM
Honeywell TrueSteam wont work! Stewart Daniel General DIY Discussions 18 12-20-2010 07:41 AM
Replacing Honeywell thermostat with another Honeywell flipz HVAC 4 02-06-2010 04:19 PM
Need a programmable thermostat. LUX or Honeywell. speedster1 HVAC 37 12-06-2009 08:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.