Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2009, 12:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Unhappy

Honeywell RTH8500 Programmable Thermostat not reaching scheduled temp- HELP :[


Please HELP

I have had a few service techs out here to look at the furnace.The FIRST problem was the furnace would only "kick in" when it felt like it.

The first one blamed relays being a little dirty, blew on them and it was ok again for a few weeks.He thought it was the blower but eliminated that for some reason...

Second guy blamed the circuit board for 300.00 and replaced it- THAT problem disappeared and then this new nightmare started

NOW, the furnace will not heat up to the scheduled temp of 70, it goes to about 65 or 64 or so and that is it until I turn the on/off switch off and back on- sometimes several times- very annoying.

This tech blamed my brand new expensive programmable thermostat which worked fine- so I bought a brand new one....same problem. Crossed some wires or blah blah to see what it was and still I think- he has no idea. This started after the board was replaced by HIS tech and he is saying there is no way that is the problem- they would have nothing to do with each other. He opened the back of the furnace, pointed to some part at the back, told me to unscrew it, take it to Lennox and get a new one.
OMG - seriously

Does anyone out there with any smarts have any idea what this is?
PLEASE HELP, I could have bought a high efficiency furnace by now with what I have had to spend in this 10 yr old Lennox piece.I am a girl and the thought of taking off the back of it and taking out screws ascares the crap out of me- I have 2 small children in here who need heat- it gets to minus 46 here- please help.

Thanks !

Tramlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:09 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

Honeywell RTH8500 Programmable Thermostat not reaching scheduled temp- HELP :[


Don't know what part you are refering to.

Although there are many techs qualified to work on Lennox equipment, that don't work for a Lennox dealer.

Quite often, your better off using a Lennox dealer.
They of course have better access to the OEM parts.

Post the model number of your furnace. It will be inside the panel.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 12:12 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Honeywell RTH8500 Programmable Thermostat not reaching scheduled temp- HELP :[


Thank you for responding but I am not sure what you are referring to?
If I knew what part was causing the problem, I would have had it repaired a long time ago- none of the techs even know- some blame the thermostat that is brand new or they charge me 300.00 + to keep replacing parts on my 10 yr old furnace that still don't fix this issue.

This all started once they replaced the "board" on it and they are denying that the issues can be or are related.

If anyone has had this situation before please let me know what it is- it is costing me 125.00 per service call just to keep getting the run around.

What would cause this ???

Thanks
Tramlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 04:17 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

Honeywell RTH8500 Programmable Thermostat not reaching scheduled temp- HELP :[


Thats why I asked you to post the model number.

It could be a dirty air filter.
Or, a dirty A/C coil causing the high limit to shut the furnace down.
Along with blocked or cover registers.
Or, a dirty flame sensor.

You should use a Lennox dealer.

Some Lennox furnaces, have problems, that are only related to Lennox.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 08:12 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 4
Angry

Honeywell RTH8500 Programmable Thermostat not reaching scheduled temp- HELP :[


It should be simple, that's what they claim.....

The wire coming from the wall are labelled as follow:
R
O
Y1
C
X
W2

I used the wiring diagram from page 12 (Installation Guide) that says:
R connect to Rc & R leave metal jumper in place,
O to O/B
Y1 to Y
C to C
X to E
W2 to Aux

Power back heat pump and furnace, set time and temp, doesn't work!!!!

Now i have to go back to JC if I want heat in house (it's -12C outside)

Thanks in advance... I leave computer on to heat up the house

Can't set date, only time, so I am on Wednesday, and year is not available...

Last edited by Pierre M; 01-18-2009 at 08:16 AM.
Pierre M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with installation of Honeywell RTH8500 thermostat dg xy HVAC 19 07-28-2009 12:25 PM
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 04:43 AM
help with installation of Honeywell RTH8500 thermostat dg xy Electrical 2 11-13-2008 07:03 PM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.