Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2009, 08:45 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Share |
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Thanks beenthere, always makes good sense to clean up and organize these patchwork systems.

As far as I know (dust, old wires, etc) I don't think anyone has touched the top three zones in many years.

At the bottom of the page..if I disconnect that transformer the whole system shuts down so, no question the aquastat (transformer) is gone.

I'll test the redlink...it's very possible it no longer works.

Iíll rewire everything this weekend and let you know how it works out.

Really appreciate your patients and help.

Dave

Maybe a dumb question but Iíll ask anyway. Thereís no wiring priority (first, second, third, fourth) for the Tacoís is there? As long as there all wired together I can start with anyone of them.
Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 08:52 AM   #32
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,479
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Correct. They aren't prejudice as to which one is wired first or last.

I remember(although the memory gets fainter as the years go by) when I first saw and had to wire up those zone valves. It was very greek to me(and I had training). And I made my fair share of mistakes.

So, I don't want to be too harsh on anybody that wires them up incorrectly.

Cause I know I wired more then one up wrong in the early years.

Just take your time, and look at the drawing often.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:58 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Spending some time going over and over the drawings just to make sure I'm not assuming anything -

Based on drawing # 2 -

1, This seems obvious but I'll ask anyway -
When I'm done rewiring, each # 1 on the Taco's should only have one wire (incomming signal from thermostats) attached to it and, the R on the transformer should have 4 wires (outgoing power to each of the 4 thermostats). Correct?

2, The aqua stat has two "T"s. Are these interchangeable or is there a differance I need to be aware of?
One "T" will go to the #3 on the zone valve and one will go to #2.
Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:35 PM   #34
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,479
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


The TT terminals are iterchangable. So it doesn't matter which hooks to 2 and 3 of the zone valve.

I usually make a pig tail to put on the R terminal of the transformer.
And then run all the wires to the stats with that pig tail. Instead of trying to put 4 or 5 wires on the R terminal screw.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 01:47 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


beenthere...I can't thank you enough. Found one transformer (transformer on bottom of posted thumb page) was not working. I removed it and every piece of wiring from the thermostats on back. Rewiring everything as you showed and all zones work great.

Can't believe you were able to guide a novice (me) to fix a problem over a chat when two experts couldn't do it while in the house.

Thanks again!!
Dave
Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 01:52 PM   #36
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,479
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Your welcome.

Some techs, are befuddled by low voltage wiring.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 04:43 AM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM
Changing from one Honeywell to another... LeroyFrick HVAC 1 11-03-2007 11:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.