Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001 - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2009, 01:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Purchased a wireless thermostat for my sun room a couple months ago and can't get it to work.

An electrician and an HVAV guy looked at it and said "oh this will be easy" and it still doesn't work.

Anybody willing to help a novice install one?

Very simple setup - heat only (hot water baseboard), no central AC, one zone dedicated for the sun-room

Thanks

Advertisement

Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 02:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


If you have zone valve or pump relay for the zone, the equipment interface module will need to be powered by the same transformer that powers the zone valve or pump relay.

Advertisement

SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 02:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


No real experience so excuse my terminology

I connected the zone valve to the interface module..simple two wire connection....is that what your referring to?
Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 02:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Just took another look at things from the zone valve back to the furnace.

It looks like the power to my zone valve is coming from a relay.

Do I keep the power from the relay to the zone value and just add the two wires from the interface module to them or do I go from the relay to the interface module and back to the zone valve?
Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 02:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


You should have 3 wires. Not sure what type of zone valve you have so I'll assume it's a Honeywell. The TR connection of your zone valve should also have a wire going to C on the interface. The TH/TR connection on the zone valve should also have a wire going to R on the interface. Then there should be a wire from TH on the zone valve to W on the interface.
This should do it.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


I have a Taco zone valve just like this one. There are three wires but the green is not being used on the valve or relay.. system is about 15 years old.

http://www.masterplumber.net/images/HPIM0081.JPG

Sorry, what are TR,TH/TR,TH connections?
Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:49 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


The module will need 3 wires.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 09:38 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Your obviously knowledgeable on this stuff so forgive my lack of understanding if this is a dumb question -

If I run three wires from the Taco valve to the module this will work even if only two (power) wires run from the relay to the valve?

If yes (makes sense) -

TR on the valve to C on the interface.
TH/TR on the valve to the R on the interface.
TH on the valve to W on the interface.

However - I have a Taco valve that is only labeled 1, 2, 3 (top to bottom) as in the picture. Don't know what TR, TH/TR, TH would translate to with my Taco valve.
Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 09:49 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


You must run a common from the transformer to the module.
The 1 terminal of teh zone valve is not a 24 volt output. It recieves 24 volts from the stat( in this case the module).
2 of the zone valve goes back to common of the transformer.
3 of the zone valve is not required, unless you have another relay that starts the circ. In which case 3 and 2 of the zone valve ould onect to that relays TT terminals.


Might help if you identified what componets you have that were wired to the thermostat and zone valve originally. Model numbers also help.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 10:46 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Thanks for the help..here's what I have -

Incoming power
to
Honeywell electronic aquastst (L7224/L7248)
to
Taco zone valve #672 (white wire on #2 screw, red on # 3 screw, green not used
to
Basler elect (class 2 XFMR transformer). Two terminals/ red and white wires only.
to
sunroom Taco zone valve (white wire on #2, red on # 3, green not used
to
(new) Honeywell YTH6320R1001 wireless. The model number on the actual interface module is THM5320R
((The sunroom had a very old thermostat that was just hooked up the red and white wires to the Taco valve))


Hope this helps
Thanks

Last edited by Davidb6; 06-16-2009 at 10:49 AM.
Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 11:30 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Leave the wires from the aqua stat to the zone valve as they are.

Follow the drawing I posted.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Red Link Zone Valve Wiring Tinycad Drawing.pdf (4.9 KB, 292 views)
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 12:12 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Wow, thank you so much for the time...I'll give it a try and let you know.
Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 01:22 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


I wired as shown but have a problem. My installation instructions tell me that after wired "press the connect button" on the interface module and it will blink green (telling me it's searching for wireless devises). However, I get no light at all... and the wireless thermostat is flashing "no signal"

Any way to test if power is getting to the module?

Last edited by Davidb6; 06-16-2009 at 01:27 PM.
Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 03:15 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


If you have a multimeter.
Check for 24 volts across the R and C terminals of the module.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 03:39 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001


Went back and looked over everything again and I gave you some bad info…the aquastat wires go directly to the transformer.

Here’s what I have now -

Red & White wires from aquastat to transformer (unchanged)


R & W wires from transformer to #2 & 3 on zone valve (unchanged)

wire from #1 on zone valve to W O/B on module

R wire from transformer to R on module
W wire from transformer to C on module

Sorry for the confusion.

Advertisement

Davidb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 05:43 AM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 08:40 AM
Changing from one Honeywell to another... LeroyFrick HVAC 1 11-03-2007 12:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts