Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-14-2013, 09:20 AM   #1
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,044
Share |
Default

Honeywell redlink vs Honeywell wifi t-stats


I have been using a Filtrete wifi stat with my 2-stage heat 1 stage a/c split system for a couple of years and it works OK, but I was thinking of upgrading to a Honeywell, primarily for the better local thermostat interface. The Filtrete is a PITA to program on the stat itself. I can do it, but no one else can, whereas the Honeywells have a much cleaner and useable interface.

Anyway... I see Honeywell is now offering standalone wifi stats in addition to the Redlink type (that require the Redlink gateway). Is there any technical reason to prefer one over the other? I have good wifi connectivity where my stat goes so that is not a potential problem.

One thing I saw about the Redlinks intrigued me... if I read the info correctly they have optional remote duct temp sensors that can be placed before and after the coil/heat exchanger to provide split temps. Sure would beat having to pull out the instruments and allow more frequent monitoring. Anyone set one of these up like that?

__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 04:42 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell redlink vs Honeywell wifi t-stats


The redlink stats allow for greater control and add-ons when you install an outdoor sensor and you can add on remote indoor sensors or entry/exit remotes or portable comfort control, or many other things. I have mine setup with the sensors (return and supply) You can not view this info online or graph it, but there are diagnostics that the stat can be setup to alert you if split temps don't meet what you have alerts setup for. The only versions that allow you to do the splits are the IAQ versions.

It's more expensive, but I like the redlink systems better than the wifi.... for simplicity though you can't beat only one device for simple web control.

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 05:32 PM   #3
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,044
Default

Honeywell redlink vs Honeywell wifi t-stats


Thanks for the info... I don't really need the IAQ contacts but I see that you are correct, must get a Prestige IAQ to be able to connect and display the remote temp sensors. This kit at PexSupply looks like it would fit the bill... Yes, I know I'd have to also order the Redlink gateway... although I don't really need the EIM to connect on the furnace end. I assume that the stat also has the regular wired terminals and my stat wires are in good shape. But I expect getting the pieces a la carte (to delete the EIM) would cost at least as much as this kit. I think I'll call Pex and see if they would credit me something to delete the EIM.

http://www.pexsupply.com/Honeywell-Y...2-Duct-Sensors

BTW, how long do the batteries last in the remote duct sensors and remote ODT/humidity sensor?
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 06:45 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell redlink vs Honeywell wifi t-stats


A few things....on the iaq version there is only terminals for R & C. The duct sensors are hardwired. My odt uses lithium AA batteries and has lasted over a year. My remote indoor sensor uses AAA alkaline batteries and has also lasted over a year. When the batteries get low an alert is set on the screen to tell you they are low.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 06:58 PM   #5
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,044
Default

Honeywell redlink vs Honeywell wifi t-stats


Ok, then, so I guess you need the EIM! I believe I saw on the non-IAQs that they also had standard terminals.

One final question... the duct sensors are hardwired to what? For just power (I assume 24v) or do they also need to be wired to either the stat or the redlink gateway for the signal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
A few things....on the iaq version there is only terminals for R & C. The duct sensors are hardwired. My odt uses lithium AA batteries and has lasted over a year. My remote indoor sensor uses AAA alkaline batteries and has also lasted over a year. When the batteries get low an alert is set on the screen to tell you they are low.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 07:07 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell redlink vs Honeywell wifi t-stats


Yes... the standard version has the normal terminals. The duct sensors are hardwired to the EIM.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 07:13 PM   #7
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,044
Default

Honeywell redlink vs Honeywell wifi t-stats


Ah, that makes more sense. I really like the idea of the duct sensors. And with the IAQ version I could eventually swap my Aprilaire humidifier over to be controlled by the stat if I want to.... although I am pretty happy with its standalone digital control for now. Thanks for the help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
Yes... the standard version has the normal terminals. The duct sensors are hardwired to the EIM.

__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical Questions on the Honeywell TH8320WF Wifi VisionPro zootjeff HVAC 2 03-04-2014 10:51 AM
Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help I26 HVAC 19 07-25-2013 09:53 PM
Replacing old Honeywell T8575B thermostat with Radio Thermostat Wifi - Wiring Proble hsnpn HVAC 17 02-11-2013 02:11 PM
Honeywell TrueSteam wont work! Stewart Daniel General DIY Discussions 18 12-20-2010 07:41 AM
Honeywell RedLink - YTH6320R1001 Davidb6 HVAC 35 06-20-2009 01:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.