Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2013, 06:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


Utah the new 2 stage furnace that was installed I am looking at a new thermostat. I am thinking of these new wi-fi tstat.
The Honeywell prestige looks promising because it has the remote sensors that claim to equalize out the temps. Does anybody know how well they work? Are they wireless?
My wife loves the weather and I can put a remote outdoor sensor in it and she will enjoy that as well!
They are pricey, I gave seen them in eBay fir less than $200 for the kit and as high as $670 on some website! What is the going rate, and are they worth it?
Thanks again for all your knowledge and help!

brucem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 07:27 PM   #2
Handyman
 
brucem609's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


Anybody have any help here?
Please?

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum

brucem609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:26 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


please list the exact model number that you are looking at purchasing.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:43 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


Speaking of thermostats, I am thinking of getting the new Honeywell 2.0 prestige with the redlink. I am interested because I like the additional remote sensors that you can put in areas of your home to "average out your temps" around your home.
I have a 2 story with cathedral ceilings in front and rear rooms.
The upstairs gets hot and downstairs is average temp.
Dies anybody know about these stats? Any experience with them? Have you used these sensors?
brucem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:46 PM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


I have that stat with remote sensor and have installed many.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS

Last edited by hvactech126; 11-30-2013 at 09:54 AM.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 08:41 PM   #6
Handyman
 
brucem609's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


The wireless indoor sensor is c7189r1004/u. And the thermostat that I am interested in is the ythx9321r5061/u.I hope you can help
Thanks
brucem609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 09:58 AM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


The thermostat is NOT a miracle worker and won't make the upstairs temp match the downstairs temp. The thermostat averages the temperatures when used with remote sensors. I have a variable speed blower in my furnace which helps that when I leave the fan set to ON it will even out the temperature between the 2 floors. Because the thermostat averages the temperature (must be setup to do so) it won't unnecessarily run the temp to the exact temp at the thermostat location and make the other floor seem extreme.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 11:46 PM   #8
Handyman
 
brucem609's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


I have a 2 stage furnace with a variable speed blower. I am not sure the tech knows how to set the blower, it seems like it us on 100% all the time
Do you know anything about a system that uses individual room thermostats that act as dampers in the line. They work from a separate location using a bladder and a small pump to inflate or deflate the bladder in each line. The air lines are capable of running through the ducts.

Any experience? I will look on the net for the exact item I am speaking of

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum
brucem609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 11:49 PM   #9
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


no, I am not familiar with that type of zoning system
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 12:16 AM   #10
Handyman
 
brucem609's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


What about the Arzel zoning system?
Any experience? Good results?

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum
brucem609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 12:51 AM   #11
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


zoning is very hard to accomplish on an existing system unless all your ductwork is exposed. Yes, I have arzel experience.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:55 PM   #12
Handyman
 
brucem609's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


According to the Arzel website, the installation LOOKS pretty straight forward! How difficult is it and how HIGH is the pricing?

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum
brucem609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:58 PM   #13
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


prices vary by location and contractor... I would get at least 3 bids.... I would guestimate you will be near the 5-8k mark
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:08 PM   #14
Handyman
 
brucem609's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


OMG that much?
Why? Is it a very difficult proposition? Or is the equipment that costly?

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum
brucem609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:11 PM   #15
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Honeywell prestige 2.0 thermostat


again, get bids from local contractors

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell / Honeywell thermostat replacement question. FatBear HVAC 15 05-05-2014 01:15 AM
Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat optimizer HVAC 13 04-20-2011 06:22 PM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-09-2010 11:58 PM
Help Needed - Program Honeywell Prestige Thermostat hennyh HVAC 2 11-19-2009 05:59 PM
Honeywell Prestige Thermostat - Any feedback?? hennyh HVAC 5 11-05-2009 10:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.