Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2008, 10:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


I have successfully installed my honeywell iaq THM5421C1008 thermostat.
I have a question about the humidity control. The humidity screen shows a 32% humidity reading on the upper left but the unit is apparently calling for 50% humidity located on the lower right. Why is it not able to get the humidity up to 50%? I have place the control on the setting of control of the fan is run by the need for humidity but the unit just dose not seem to turn on the humidifier enought. I have gone into test mode and the thermostat does turn on the humidifier. I have a recently installed desert spring drum humidifier that is supposed to do a house of 3000 square feet and my house id 2000 square feet. I gave it a few week to get the humidity level up. I have an outdoor temp sensor which is accurately working.

GhostBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 12:48 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


Because your furnace isn't cycling enough.

That model requires the furnace to be running for heat, in order to add humidity(or enough to notice).

Wrong humidifier for your application.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


I set the thermostat to the mode where the fan runs when humidity is called for. That did not seem to be enough. What is the right humidifier for my application. This one uses far less water than other models.
GhostBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:51 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


A flow through.
Hooked to the hot water line.
They use more water, but will add moisture to the air.

The only humidifiers that will save water, and add moisture to the air without the furnace running for heat, are steamers.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 04:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


What is a good brand of steamer. I know honeywell makes one. The Desert is a bypass unit. Is that the same as a flowthrough?
GhostBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 04:40 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


Maybe I could hook my desert spring to the hot water. The hot is softened. Desert Spring recommended un-softened water.
GhostBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 05:20 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


Hoineywell has the Truesteam. But, the large unit, isn't really able to add that much moisture(12 gallons per day).
I prefer the EWC Autoflo steamer.
The small one is 16 gallons per day, and the large one is 22.

Hot water won't help the desert, it is a sump humidifier. So the water will cool down.

Flow through, is when fresh water is constantly flowing through it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 05:43 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


so flow through is like my old aprilaire at my last house?
GhostBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 06:37 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


If it was a 500, 600, or 700 model, yes.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 07:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


Is the outdoor temp sensor integrated with your humidifier? If it is it may be holding your humidity down, especially if your outdoor temp is low. Too much humidity and your windows will sweat. Around here if you have 50% humidity this time of year you won't see out of your windows.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 08:32 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


Skuttle makes a good steam humidifier, but alot of maintenance comes with it, I use a Honeywell Flow-Through humidifier with a Invensys T-stat with Humidity sensing to turn the unit on and off, also have the outdoor sensor for the t-stat as well, and it works great.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 12:59 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


Quote:
Originally Posted by SKIP4661 View Post
Is the outdoor temp sensor integrated with your humidifier? If it is it may be holding your humidity down, especially if your outdoor temp is low. Too much humidity and your windows will sweat. Around here if you have 50% humidity this time of year you won't see out of your windows.
Yes, The outdoor temp is integrated into the whole system.
This is correct. It wont raise the humidity to much inside if the outside temp is very low. It will steam the windows up. I have a zoned IAQ system with a truesteam setup.
integlikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 05:16 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


Yeah, I looked up the charts that recommend what % humidity for the outdoor temps and my IAQ seemed to be tracking OK. I wonder why my thermostat has a 50% humidity in the lower right corner when it maintains 30 or 32% which matches the tables.
GhostBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:52 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


I don't know about yours but is this on the main screen more screen? Mine shows outside temp on the bottom right.
Well I'm sure it could be a setting option.
integlikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 01:28 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control


it is on the more pressed twice screen where it reports the humidity.

GhostBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
thermostat and humidity controls for electric attic fans lowlysubaruguy Roofing/Siding 2 09-25-2008 08:32 AM
EXcessive moisture in house geema HVAC 5 09-10-2008 12:18 PM
Humidifier & Thermostat BigD HVAC 1 12-19-2007 09:04 PM
Swimming In Gas Log Humidity Sleepwalk General DIY Discussions 5 03-22-2005 12:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.