Honeywell Humidifier - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2013, 11:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: south bend, IN
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

honeywell humidifier


Have a power assist honeywell HE 360.
I decided to bypass the pressure swiicth they gave me, so I did not wire through the supplied pigtail ( with plastic connector end). I did just plug in the 110 cord as normal though. It appears that the solenoid is working as should. Only opens when heat, etc (I wired it through the furnace pressure swith as the furnace diagram said in THEIR instructions). I wonder if its working right though? I cranked the humidistat just to see if I could make the windows sweat or something, and it doesn't appear to do anything. I then wondered.. That power fan. is it 110? does it maybe have a low voltage control that I took out of the circuit when I abandoned those wires? unfortunately the diagram supplied isn't too damn good. It is a pictoral and lame. If I could see a REAL schematic maybe showing the things I wondered about?..........

Advertisement

sixty7flh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 08:10 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

honeywell humidifier


That humidifier has its own 24 volt power. It should not be wired through the furnace pressure switch. The humidifier instructions don't show it being wired through any pressure switch, since that could defeat the switches safety ability.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 08:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: south bend, IN
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

honeywell humidifier


is the fan 110? does it have a 24v contactor? Do you know how I might get a scematic of this model? thanx!
sixty7flh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:18 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

honeywell humidifier


Fan is 110 volt. Has a relay to run the fan.

Here is a PDF that has a good parts break down. About as close to a schematic as I can find.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
sixty7flh (02-02-2013)
Old 02-02-2013, 11:12 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: south bend, IN
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

honeywell humidifier


don't see it... it may be my computer illiteracy!?
sixty7flh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:46 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

honeywell humidifier


Or maybe I just forgot to paste the link. LOL, sorry about that.

http://www.appliancefactoryparts.com...s/109769-5.pdf
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:27 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: south bend, IN
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

honeywell humidifier


hey. preciate your info!.. that was the diagram that I have too. I am needing to find out which wires I need to energize to pull in the contactor for the fan? I am thinking it is one of those red or yellow wires I did not use, but was hoping for a schematic that showed me. I may have to just pull it off and take it apart so I can trace 'em out huh. as far as wiring it like that, the furnace manual actually tells me too, and it appears o.k. it is not going around any safeties just using external ones on another piece of equipment. I couldn't just plug the connector in anywhere, or that would've been easier and I would've. again.. I "do" appreciate your help!! dan
sixty7flh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:49 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

honeywell humidifier


You don't energize any. It has its own 24 volt transformer. When the humidistat closes its contacts, that tells the humidifier to run. Connecting it to the furnace's pressure switch and back feeding 24 volts to those wires may have damaged it.

Remove those wires from the pressure switch, and see if it shuts off.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
sixty7flh (02-02-2013)
Old 02-02-2013, 07:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: south bend, IN
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

honeywell humidifier


I had to take it down and trace the wires and figured it out.
the yellow ones are a normally open circuit which just needed a pressure switch wired in series so it closes and energizes the fan only when blower is going. I had a pressure switch with no voltage going through it to do just that. the other pressure switch (the one the furnace actually SUPPLIED the piggyback wiring and all), had 24V and the manual actually instructed me to wire into it. I understood that the humidifier had its own transformer, but my configurations did not allow me to use it. I did not back feed. again, thanks for your help though...

Advertisement

sixty7flh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell HE120 Humidifier Humidistat Not Working Properly jobondur HVAC 2 01-16-2013 09:22 PM
Wiring Aprilaire humidifier to Honeywell thermostat MurphyMan HVAC 6 01-04-2013 03:52 PM
Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier Opinions/Experience dgbehrends HVAC 239 01-16-2012 04:08 PM
Honeywell HE260A Humidifier install rdtour HVAC 3 02-02-2011 10:10 AM
Honeywell TrueStream Humidifier? kcrossley2 HVAC 2 01-10-2009 01:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts