Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2013, 10:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell 8001C replacement


Our thermostat is on the fritz and needs to be replaced. It shows the incorrect room temperature and is cycling the furnace at the wrong times.

This model seems to be no longer made but I was hoping I could find a compatible one where I could just snap the top into the existing baseplate. Has anyone done this or is that too much to hope for? (The 5-2 programming is sufficient).

I couldn't figure this out from the Honeywell website. Also, the new thermostats seem to require batteries whereas the 8001C did not

Thanks

unmesh59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell 8001C replacement


hi mfgs like to change things on us alot ,, so you may have to go with new style as they prob wont make a direct snap on replacement . batteries only keep the program in case of power failure ,,

hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell 8001C replacement


Looks like I should start examining the wiring of the thermostat in anticipation of having to rewire to a new one
unmesh59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell 8001C replacement


if is just a straight foward heat/cool system they make them very user frendily to replace
hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:30 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Honeywell 8001C replacement


That is encouraging. I believe it is a straightforward single stage heat/cool system.

Thanks.
unmesh59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Honeywell 8001C replacement


yw my pleasure ,keep in touch if you got any questions or problems . id say stay with honeywell its a good product

hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell / Honeywell thermostat replacement question. FatBear HVAC 15 05-05-2014 02:15 AM
Honeywell TrueSteam wont work! Stewart Daniel General DIY Discussions 18 12-20-2010 08:41 AM
Honeywell Thermostat replacement khanma1 HVAC 2 08-01-2010 01:35 PM
Honeywell R8182A Replacement jregal HVAC 1 01-14-2010 09:17 PM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 10:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.