Home Hvac - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2012, 07:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Home hvac


Hello, replaced outside fan motor 3wks ago. System worked great until fri. night. They keep the thermostat at 73. So it was good. Then outside fan quit,unless i manually closed contact,then ut would run but not full speed. Also fan motor seemed to be very hot!! Thanks for any help,its only 103 outside!!! Yes Texas!

Advertisement

TonyM. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 08:12 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Home hvac


Try the hvac section down below for a slew of answers and folk that'll help, but did you change the run capacitor?

I'm an hvac tech in Houston, btw.

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
TonyM. (07-29-2012)
Old 07-29-2012, 08:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Home hvac


Tried testing cap. But not getting any readings. its a three prong,tested w/ meter on resistance. My meter is digital shouldnt i have it on ohms? Another site said on Voltage??? But reading was just a 1 between all 3. Thanks for any help.
TonyM. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:18 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Home hvac


Moved to HVAC forum.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:20 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Home hvac


Capacitors are tested by reading micrfarads.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (07-31-2012)
Old 07-31-2012, 06:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

Home hvac


Did you replace the capacitor at the same time you replaced the motor as asked in #2?
COLDIRON is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to COLDIRON For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (07-31-2012)
Old 08-01-2012, 05:41 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Home hvac


No,cap was not replaced at same time as fan motor. Cap tested good. But this time cap was bad,and replaced. All is good! Thanks to all who helped. But should cap have been replaced same time as fan motor? All info is appreciated. Thanks again. Great app.Tony.
TonyM. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 05:43 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Home hvac


Anytime you replace a motor, the cap should be replaced.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!! How much owe my HVAC repairman? Is he competant? MB1 HVAC 23 02-01-2012 03:42 PM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 08:28 AM
New HVAC system in my home saby HVAC 2 01-14-2011 07:31 PM
History of Lomonaco's Iron Concepts & Home Decor John Lomonaco Introductions 0 11-08-2009 11:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts