Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 05:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

HighEfficiency Furnace Shuts off before reaching target temperature


Hi all,

I have a gas furnace which works OK "most" of the time. However, there are times it will shut off prior to reaching it's target set temperature. I have changed the filter, changed the setting on the thermostat to try to get it to reach the target temperature. And I am not sure why it is inconsistent (sometimes works, sometimes does not). I have had this furnace for less than 1.5 years.

Today, I removed the cover and noticed a build-up of water inside. I am not sure what is causing the water build-up. Anyhow, I am thinking this may be causing my furnace to shut down prior to reaching the set temperature.
Anyone with any ideas on next steps?
Attached Thumbnails
HighEfficiency Furnace Shuts off before reaching target temperature-img-20130121-00026.jpg  

iwannadiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:31 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

HighEfficiency Furnace Shuts off before reaching target temperature


What is the brand name. Ducane or AirFlo? Hard to tell where the water is coming from but it may be the gasket behind the exhaust fan is faulty or a different problem. I would get the installer to fix it as removing the ventor fan is not easy and the gasket is not a easy DIY fix either. There should be a LED in a viewing window in the lower door. Check for an error code when it ias acting up. Check your vent pipes outside for obstructions.

That unit is a clone of a Lennox as they own those 2 brands. Get the installer to make sure it is sloped to the front 1/2 an inch for better drainage AND to make SURE they followed the installation instructions PERFECTLY for the condensate trap. If the vent pipe on the trap is too long they don't drain properly.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 01-21-2013 at 05:43 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-22-2013)
Old 01-21-2013, 06:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

HighEfficiency Furnace Shuts off before reaching target temperature


Thanks for the reply.

Brand name is Ducane.

Only LED I see is a red one on a circuit board that stays lit while the unit is running. Is this the one to look at once the unit shuts off?

Last edited by iwannadiy; 01-21-2013 at 06:16 PM.
iwannadiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:56 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

HighEfficiency Furnace Shuts off before reaching target temperature


Yep. But that is a bad water leak that needs fixing or the water will get into the circuit board and blow it and void it's warranty
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,292
Default

HighEfficiency Furnace Shuts off before reaching target temperature


there is a issue with the drain on the left side of unit ....there is a black hose that drains the exhaust... trace it down to beside inducer motor... see if its clogged ...bet it is ..or at least restricted..ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Default

HighEfficiency Furnace Shuts off before reaching target temperature


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
there is a issue with the drain on the left side of unit ....there is a black hose that drains the exhaust... trace it down to beside inducer motor... see if its clogged ...bet it is ..or at least restricted..ben sr
Yep I'd bet this is your problem. 90% furnaces make water in the exhaust. So there is a drain built it. (also why they use pvc pipe instead of metal because the water rusts the metal pipes)

What can happen is the drain partially stops up. When the unit doesn't run a lot it is given plenty of off time to drain down so you have no problems. When it runs a lot it makes water too fast to drain through the restriction. Water backs up into the inducer motor causing the fan to not move enough air. Then the pressure switch shuts the unit down.
JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 03:51 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Thumbs up

HighEfficiency Furnace Shuts off before reaching target temperature


Thanks for all the replies. Appreciate it.

It turns out that it was a drainage problem. Water was getting backed-up. Although there was no clear blockage or anything like that. Once I removed some of the drain (and trried to blow water out of it). It drained a whole lot of water and once it started up again, it ran until it reached desired emperature this time.

So it looks like I will have to keep monitoring it to ensure there is no water backing up.

Thanks again to all for your comments/tips.

iwannadiy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to iwannadiy For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (01-22-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand New Concord Furnace Doesn't Work In Cold Weather LeighC HVAC 21 01-07-2013 08:48 PM
window condensation kmpittman Windows and Doors 4 11-29-2011 09:10 AM
Furnace Shuts down B4 Blower motor engages Kooks from Michigan HVAC 5 03-18-2011 12:11 PM
Furnace Shuts down B4 Blower motor engages Kooks from Michigan HVAC 1 02-23-2008 12:52 PM
furnace cycles, runs for 45-60 seconds shuts down and recycles again ronsmoneypit HVAC 4 02-03-2008 01:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.