High Rise Condo Thermostat Change - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2008, 09:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

High Rise Condo Thermostat Change


Alright guys thanks again for all you help with all my other projects.

I need to change my thermostat in my condo unit, figured i can just buy one off the shelf at Home depot. Now this is the confusing part, I don't pay for heat/AC, its included in my condo fee. The condominium also controls hot/cold. They tell us when the heat is on for winter and when the A/C is on for summer and we can only control the blower speed and how hot we want it or cold.

My thermostat is really old unit. I've attached a pic below. The condo was built in 1975. The thermostat is made my McQuay. When i remove the face plate i see 3 wires. brown, yellow and red. Do I just purchase a normal thermostat from Home depot or do i have to get a specific thermostat that is designed for a condo. thanks in advance

thanks
-O
Attached Thumbnails
High Rise Condo Thermostat Change-thermostat2-.jpg   High Rise Condo Thermostat Change-thermostat.jpg  

Advertisement


Last edited by omanalansan; 10-23-2008 at 10:24 PM.
omanalansan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 09:45 PM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

High Rise Condo Thermostat Change


Thats a speciality s'tat. No HD is gonna have that.

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 09:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

High Rise Condo Thermostat Change


Do you know where i can get one?
omanalansan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 10:00 PM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

High Rise Condo Thermostat Change


Sorry no. That is a specialty application I don't deal with.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 11:31 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,419
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

High Rise Condo Thermostat Change


If that all 3 speeds use to work on that stat, then there should be 4 wires.

That stat has been discontinued.

There is a replacement. Its special order.

You may have a hard time finding a place you can order it though.

Grainger might be able to get you something.

Might want to ask your neighbors if they had to replace theirs yet, and where they got theirs from.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 11:45 PM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

High Rise Condo Thermostat Change


Hey Been, what this gent got? an air handler piped to a chiller and boiler set up?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 12:18 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,419
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

High Rise Condo Thermostat Change


Yea.
They are single coil fan coil units. 2 pipe system.
The condo has a chiller and a boiler. The resident only controls the speed of the blower. And at what temp it comes on at.

The ones I work on, also have a Heat Cool push button.


The OPs is an older model yet, but its still a relabeled Honeywell.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvaclover (08-18-2010)
Old 10-24-2008, 08:45 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

High Rise Condo Thermostat Change


Been,

Thanks alot for you advise. I looked up thermostat for 2 pipes system and found one on the internet. Is this what i'm looking for.

http://americanhvacparts.com/Merchan...gory_Code=T-LV

thanks
omanalansan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to omanalansan For This Useful Post:
hvaclover (08-18-2010)
Old 10-24-2008, 03:57 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,419
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

High Rise Condo Thermostat Change


Yes, that model will work.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvaclover (08-18-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat VS Ceiling fan MrShadetree0222 HVAC 38 01-23-2010 04:29 AM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 08:40 AM
condo thermostat change mason82 HVAC 2 09-12-2008 11:15 PM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts