Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-26-2011, 07:13 PM   #16
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Share |
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Infra red should be ok
Nope infrared retracts light.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:15 PM   #17
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Nope infrared retracts light.
I know clamp is better....but he has only that
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.

Last edited by JJboy; 07-26-2011 at 07:25 PM.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
Doc Holliday (07-26-2011)
Old 07-26-2011, 07:20 PM   #18
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Refracts.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:25 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 81
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


It just seems on a hot day, 95'f+ , the a\c , can't get the temp. down below 73'f.

If I try to make it colder in the house the a/c runs for ever,and never really gets colder. 73'f in the house seems to be the magic number.

Anything lower and the a/c runs forever.

When its at 73'f , a/c runs for about 15 minutes, then thermostat shuts it off. Then it turns back on maybe 10 minutes later, and runs for another 15 minutes. The unit is 21 years old.....Heil (not sure of BTU/ton)

Its been this way for awhile now.

But it seems humid in the house at 73'f.

My friend had a 4ton unit put into his house, and at 73'f in his house its cold in there. Everything you touch in his house is ice cold. Everybody complains it feels colder in his house then 73'f.

I would like my house to feel that way.

I will try to post a picture of the charts inside the unit outside ,

maybe it will show you the ton/or btu's
gixxer1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:33 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 81
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Pictures of the service charts in unt outside.

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/683be

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/3d740

Last edited by gixxer1000; 07-26-2011 at 07:37 PM.
gixxer1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:39 PM   #21
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Your system is working decently for so old. Is this a new problem at these outdoor. Temps?.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:40 PM   #22
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxer1000 View Post
It just seems on a hot day, 95'f+ , the a\c , can't get the temp. down below 73'f.

If I try to make it colder in the house the a/c runs for ever,and never really gets colder. 73'f in the house seems to be the magic number.

Anything lower and the a/c runs forever.

When its at 73'f , a/c runs for about 15 minutes, then thermostat shuts it off. Then it turns back on maybe 10 minutes later, and runs for another 15 minutes. The unit is 21 years old.....Heil (not sure of BTU/ton)

Its been this way for awhile now.

But it seems humid in the house at 73'f.

My friend had a 4ton unit put into his house, and at 73'f in his house its cold in there. Everything you touch in his house is ice cold. Everybody complains it feels colder in his house then 73'f.

I would like my house to feel that way.

I will try to post a picture of the charts inside the unit outside ,

maybe it will show you the ton/or btu's
Your house insulation is not so good as your friend
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
gixxer1000 (07-26-2011)
Old 07-26-2011, 07:42 PM   #23
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


2.5 ton
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
gixxer1000 (07-26-2011)
Old 07-26-2011, 07:47 PM   #24
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


What's the. lf2pe2yyp Condition. Of the condenser
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:52 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,467
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


The liquid line should not be cooler then the outdoor temp. that indicates a problem.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:53 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 81
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Your system is working decently for so old. Is this a new problem at these outdoor. Temps?.
I try to clean it frequently and maintain it...I'm an electrician by trade but know nothing when it comes to hvac to properly size it up.

The unit has been this way for as long as I could remember.

The installer actually screwed the install up. He put in a return line that was only 10" big. He never came back, to finish up changing it. So I installed a 20" return pipe and a 24"x24" register.

The feed coming out the unit is like a 16" pipe then reduces down to like a 12" or 14" pipe after about 10ft with 9 - 6" flex pipe coming off to the registers

Its a bi-level house built in 1976 with only the top floor cooled in the summer.

9 working registers in the ceiling.

I just wanted to see if I could get this to cool more.

And I was thinking about replacing the unit because of it age.

I was thinking about going with a bigger unit, but I know bigger isn't always better. I need to figure out on how to proper size the house for the proper ton's.
gixxer1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:54 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 81
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
What's the. lf2pe2yyp Condition. Of the condenser

SAY WHAT ???
gixxer1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:56 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 81
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The liquid line should not be cooler then the outdoor temp. that indicates a problem.
Thats why I was asking the question in the first place..my thoughts were the same...I thought it should be hotter, just like all the other units I looked at ?
gixxer1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:57 PM   #29
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Typing from. My cell. Sorry
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 08:00 PM   #30
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

High pressure line (not hot)


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The liquid line should not be cooler then the outdoor temp. that indicates a problem.

The temperature of the high line (1/4") was 76'f before the valve.

The temperature of the high line (1/4") was 109'f coming out the compressor.


LL Temp is 109F ......outside 87F
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ac not cooling, suction line freezing, suction pressure in "Retard" GetYourShineBox HVAC 7 05-26-2011 09:01 PM
lennox xp15 high pressure fault code GEAF HVAC 10 03-11-2011 08:44 PM
High pressure Shower Head Carloscda Plumbing 9 06-18-2010 12:50 AM
Running a secondary high pressure line Randell Tarin General DIY Discussions 6 02-18-2008 11:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.