Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2012, 02:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

high line freezes


i installed a new compreessor in my rheem 3 ton heat pump it worked great for a day the n it quit cooling and the high pressure line is freezing up what is the problem

lasey-JANE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 02:27 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

high line freezes


Did you change out the filter drier.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 02:40 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

high line freezes


no i didnt
lasey-JANE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 03:28 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

high line freezes


good chance thats where he problem is.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 05:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

high line freezes


how can i replace the drier without draining the freon can i isolate the freon
lasey-JANE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 05:27 PM   #6
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

high line freezes


pump down the refrigerant inside of the condenser
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 05:27 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

high line freezes


have to recover it if the drier is inside the cabinet.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 05:50 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

high line freezes


how do i pump freon into the condenser i am not sure
lasey-JANE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 06:11 PM   #9
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

high line freezes


Quote:
Originally Posted by lasey-JANE View Post
how do i pump freon into the condenser i am not sure
close the high service valve until the low gauge shows 0 psig.....close the low service valve

After you replace the dryer filter you have to leak test with nitrogen at 150 psig and them vacuum until micro test hit 500 micron....
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:47 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

high line freezes


Do you have an EPA cert to handle/work with refrigerants?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 04:32 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

high line freezes


Where, exactly, is the high pressure line freezing up? Do you see this on the indoor coil, for example, or somewhere on the outdoor unit?

Note that if the drier is INSIDE the condenser cabinet, you can't pump the refrigerant into the condenser. You'll have to recover the refrigerant, replace the drier, and then recharge. As beenthere said, if you don't have an EPA card you should not be doing this.

scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the line presssure too high ? sh1633 HVAC 3 06-22-2012 06:45 PM
Old water supply line a_lost_shadow Plumbing 7 04-19-2012 11:12 PM
tapping water line for new line KarlJay Plumbing 5 07-28-2010 09:30 AM
Replacing damaged BX line in kitchen wall fishnyc22 Electrical 5 02-17-2009 12:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.