Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2009, 10:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

high limit switch


I have a brand new carrier three ton heat pump the the led light is telling me that is tripping out on the high pressure switch. What are some of the causes I could check out.


Last edited by tarheelhvac; 06-14-2009 at 10:28 PM. Reason: left out info
tarheelhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 11:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

high limit switch


Make sure the outdoor fan if running properly. Make sure the outside unit is unobstructed on all sides and top so it has good airflow through the unit. Other than that you will need technician to check the charge.

SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 11:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

high limit switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by SKIP4661 View Post
Make sure the outdoor fan if running properly. Make sure the outside unit is unobstructed on all sides and top so it has good airflow through the unit. Other than that you will need technician to check the charge.
So if the fan is running properly and it is unobstructed on all sides and top, the chances are it is over charged?
tarheelhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 07:20 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 250
Default

high limit switch


You could simply have a bad switch. You could check ohms on the switch, but without know the specs on that switch its hard to know what it should be.

If this is a brand new system, why not just call the installer back. For sure your parts are covered, and many contractors will cover labor for a period.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:52 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

high limit switch


Brand new? Don't touch anything or your contractor could void your warranty.

You did have it professionally installed, I hope, cause if not Carrier is likely to turn down a DIY parts return.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower fan runs constantly epowerfan HVAC 65 12-06-2011 06:57 AM
Motion switch wired to two circuits Sibkuz Electrical 2 04-22-2009 07:31 PM
Wiring limit control on gas boiler uncleneiler Electrical 1 11-21-2008 08:03 AM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Comfortmaker RPJII - 4 flashes - open high limit switch nisad HVAC 7 12-08-2006 11:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.