Hi Temp Boiler Cutoff - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2012, 07:46 PM   #16
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,788
Rewards Points: 1,408
Default

hi temp boiler cutoff


yea, i know. I saved the old ones. These have a 30 day waranty - if they don't work right i will return them and get the original 007's. I saved the old ones, but like I said one is bad making grinding noise. I would replace them with new ones. thanks. Should have listen to your advise and stuck with the original 007's. I'm like a big kid on christmas day, when I see or read about something new, I got to have the lastest and greatest thing. I guess some of us have to learn the hard way. My bad. thanks BT.

Advertisement


Last edited by jmon; 12-02-2012 at 07:55 PM.
jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 11:33 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hi temp boiler cutoff


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Wells may or may not be corroded. might just be the control is going out. Those are insertion probes. Remove the clamp that keeps them in and they should pull out somewhat easily. That boiler is very sensitive to wter flow, if too low it will over shoot set temp and it will make lots of noise.
Oh, I didn't notice that these are wells. Much easier.
rootboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rootboy For This Useful Post:
jmon (12-04-2012)
Old 12-04-2012, 10:25 AM   #18
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,788
Rewards Points: 1,408
Default

hi temp boiler cutoff


thanks rb. yea, if you look really close at the pics (above original post) you'll see some kind of really heavy gauge wire clamp holding that probe in place through the well. I called lochinvar tech support, they said all I have to do is use a pair of pliers and take that wire clamp off the probe going into the well. Probe should come right out, if not then it's corroded and the entire well may have to be removed, cleaned, or replaced. He said, given the age of the boiler, you never really know what's going on or what you are going to find inside until you take it apart, it may be an easy diy project initially. However, if you need to clean or replace those wells it could turn into a more complicated project. He advised me to just be aware of that. He said, a boiler of that age, easy projects can easily turn into difficult projects for diy's.

As BT has suggested in earlier post, that may or may not be the problem. Low water flow to boiler will also make it overshoot. If it still overshoots after replacing aquastat - then there is another issue going on with the boiler.

As I have discussed previously with BT in earlier post, I sit and watch the gauges when boiler first calls for heat. It's cutting off at around 180, which is what I have it set for. Before I replace hi cutoff aquastat, I will observe boiler with cold spell coming up. It seems like after boiler has been on for awhile (really cold nights - when it's running all night long) when both zones are calling for heat at the same time, something goes out of whack. Can't really put my finger on it (kind of does it whenever it wants to). As I discussed with BT earlier, we have a cold spell coming up, and I am going to watch the gauges (temp&PSI) and mark down time and when & what it does, what zones are running when it does it ect. Of course the gauge is really old to (as old as the boiler, 26 years, probably should replaced that at some point to.) - so I don't know how accurate it really is. I will re-post results and let everyone know what i find out. We can go from there. Thanks for everyone's support.

wishing everyone a very happy and safe holiday season.

Last edited by jmon; 12-06-2012 at 06:30 PM.
jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:35 PM   #19
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,788
Rewards Points: 1,408
Default

hi temp boiler cutoff


I sat and watch the temp and psi gauges through several cycles. It's been shuting off at 180 which is what I have it set for. No banging or overshooting yet - but I do notice when the circulator pumps shut off there is a slight fluctuation in psi pressure about 2 or 3. hard to tell - needle just fluctuates for about 5 seconds.

I hear a little gurgling sound then everything settles down at around 20 psi. At cold psi it is 18-20 hot 20-22. At 26 years old I really don't know how accuate the temp and psi gauge is. This could be normal I don't know.

The current configuation that the pumps are in (verticle) the instuctions reccommend 20 psi cold and 15 psi cold for horizontal mount.

I Purged all air from isolation valves/baseboard after circulator installation. No air sounds just pure water coming out.

that's what I got so far.

Wishing everyone out there a very happy and safe holiday season.

Last edited by jmon; 12-05-2012 at 01:40 PM.
jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:24 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

hi temp boiler cutoff


Recheck your install instructions on the circs. I think if you look close. Its 20PSIG if the motor is installed vertical.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
jmon (12-05-2012)
Old 12-05-2012, 09:01 PM   #21
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,788
Rewards Points: 1,408
Default

hi temp boiler cutoff


your right BT. My bad. thanks.

Advertisement

jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Boiler for an Office - Got Two Quotes, but What Do We Need? Prolow Plumbing 0 09-17-2012 07:10 AM
Peerless oil furnace - keeps turning on when temp exceeds target temp eugenet1979 HVAC 0 12-22-2011 09:30 PM
boiler temp overshoot johnnyzero HVAC 0 11-08-2011 10:52 AM
Low water cutoff keeps shutting boiler off dolfish HVAC 7 12-06-2010 05:26 PM
I Need a New Boiler. What do i need to know New Boiler Co Plumbing 0 10-23-2010 07:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts