Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2010, 05:45 AM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Share |
Default

hepa furnace filter


Temp setting over shoot can be caused by the air filter. Not often though.
It can slow the air flow enough that by the time the thermostat is satisfied. The heat of the heat exchanger is enough that it over heats the house.

You should check the temp difference at the furnace.
If you don't have thermometers that can do that. Then the next best thing is to check it at the supply and return that are closest to the furnace.

If your getting 70 at the registers. You have more then that at the furnace. And your temp rise is TOO high.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
mferguson0414 (03-05-2010)
Old 02-23-2010, 05:48 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 126
Default

hepa furnace filter


I will look into that some time this week and get back with ya, maybe my finding will help someone else out too. i know for sure though that the temp at the furnace and the temp at the closest register should be close, that air out of the register is HOT!
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 05:50 AM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

hepa furnace filter


Most furnaces want a temp rise(at the furnace) of less then 70F with a new clean air filter.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 05:52 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 126
Default

hepa furnace filter


Is temp rise calculated from measuring the temperature when the unit first kicks on to when it kicks off during the cycle? You are quick to respond on these threads by the way.
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:10 AM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

hepa furnace filter


No. After about 3 to 5 minutes of the blower running, you can check the difference between the return and supply temp.

Somedays it takes me hours to respond, other days a few minutes.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
mferguson0414 (03-05-2010)
Old 02-23-2010, 06:22 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 126
Default

hepa furnace filter


What type of thermometer would you suggest in this application?
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:25 AM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

hepa furnace filter


Some oven thermometers will read the supply temp(need to be able to read as low as 100F, and upwards of 150F). And then you can use a regular room thermometer for the return air temp.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Furnace filter brands to avoid? MistyLee HVAC 7 11-30-2009 09:27 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Furnace minus filter dsal HVAC 16 02-24-2008 12:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.