Help With Zonex Dual Zone System - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2010, 09:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: texas
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help with zonex dual zone system


We recently bought this house and apparently at one time it had dual zones (there is a thermostat upstairs and one downstairs). Upon checking in the attic it looks as if one damper motor is hooked up and the other one was disconnected for some unknown reason. I hooked up the other one (assuming I connected it correctly with the wires) but have not noticed any difference in air output in either zone.

The labels on the dampers say it is "California economizer" size 24x12. From what I understand this is/was a division of Zonex. There is also a piece sticking out from the duct-work labeled Synchron. I am assuming this is the damper motor?

I would love to get this working but unsure where to start. Would I assume correctly that the motor is probably burnt out? Is it easy and relatively inexpensive to replace?

thank you for any help you can provide!

Advertisement

bman1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 08:16 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

help with zonex dual zone system


There is a lot more to this system than you might realize. Your 2 t-stats are wire to a control board that has LED indicators. The zone damper motors are also wierd to this panel. If this panel has been removed or rewired there is no wy to get the zone dampers functional. The dampers are spring loaded to the open position and need power from the controler to close. This is a safety feature to insure the damer will not stay closed if there is a bad motor.

Here is a reference for the installation maual. Study the system and see if all the componets are still in place, then run the test sequence in the manual.

http://zonexsystems.com/PDF/DIGITRACT4/dt4man.pdf

It is funny that I am also working on a problem with one of these systems.

Just noticed your post is a year old, did you get it working?

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina

Last edited by rjniles; 05-31-2011 at 08:29 AM.
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 03:38 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help with zonex dual zone system


Just stumbled upon thisd thread very germaine to my current predicament.

novice hvac guy reolacing a syncor double stack motor with zonex 101ahdm which is basically a belimo lmb24-3t actuator. put it in wired it up and strangely enough i only get airflow when damper is in closed ccw position. has anyone heard of this before? any help appreciated.
NZ70UHYp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
convert single to dual zone? inetquestion HVAC 2 06-15-2010 07:18 PM
No heat in one zone: Need help bleeding system dvsrikanth HVAC 0 04-01-2010 09:55 AM
Adding new zone makapacs HVAC 0 11-26-2009 01:35 PM
no ciculation in one zone of forced water heating system srossdiy Plumbing 2 01-27-2009 11:39 PM
Zone system not working with heat. deliriousga HVAC 5 12-29-2006 07:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts