Help Wiring My Furnace Blower Motor - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2010, 10:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help wiring my furnace blower motor


i have a dayton model # 6k376 and all the wiring diagrams don't match up with my furnace. i only have a black, white and green wires coming from my furnace. how do i wire this?

Advertisement

jmorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 10:33 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

help wiring my furnace blower motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmorton View Post
i have a dayton model # 6k376 and all the wiring diagrams don't match up with my furnace. i only have a black, white and green wires coming from my furnace. how do i wire this?


Just single speed motor. Green is ground. Black is line 1 or hot when power is sent for motor to come on. white is netural

Advertisement

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 08:11 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help wiring my furnace blower motor


but where do i hook them on the motor. there is a terminal with a white black and yellow wire connected to it with one open terminal (to plug another wire in). there is a terminal with an orange and black, a terminal with a red wire, one with a yellow wire and open terminal, and one terminal with two open spots. the diagram says nothing about the white and green wires. they are all connected by 1/4in connectors. i would do trial and error but i'm worried that i would fry the motor.
jmorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 06:13 PM   #4
Retired Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: brooklyn ny
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

help wiring my furnace blower motor


did you look on the inside of the cover there should be a diagram for the connections can you post a pic of the termal block, it allso should say which wires to change rotation

Last edited by fy171; 12-24-2010 at 06:16 PM.
fy171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 06:37 PM   #5
Retired Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: brooklyn ny
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

help wiring my furnace blower motor


does it have the motor info on the side
fy171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 07:34 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

help wiring my furnace blower motor


look at the schematic on the side of the motor your going for a 115V hookup.forget the green wire it mounts to the green screw inside the terminal section opening...the 2 black wires on the terminals are the capacitor connections..look close in with a flashlight they have to be numbered and correspond to the schematic....just watch that direction CW/CCW which is a wire change within there if wrong on start...if you don't have that taped on schematic don't guess but with 115V you won't burn the motor out..just wont have action.your description of a terminal with 2 open spots whats that 2 slip connecters??
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 09:32 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

help wiring my furnace blower motor


Belt drive....yoy need to look at the wiring diagram on the label or connection dust plate.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 12-24-2010 at 09:37 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 02:33 AM   #8
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

help wiring my furnace blower motor


Is this a MagicAire air handler?
I've installed this motor many times. There are diagrams on the motor describing voltage configurations. Strangely, it usually comes configured for 115VAC.

Power connects to the 2 spade terminals with 11/32" nuts.

The green wire connects to the 1/4" hex green screw.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 03:54 AM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

help wiring my furnace blower motor


The diagram will show L1 and L2.

Black goes to L1 white goes to L2.

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICP Furnace Blower Motor SheeB HVAC 8 04-17-2011 01:42 PM
Furnace Shuts down B4 Blower motor engages Kooks from Michigan HVAC 5 03-18-2011 01:11 PM
Another blower thread...Please help!!! keqwow HVAC 2 11-01-2010 05:50 AM
Questions about finding replacement blower motor revg HVAC 3 02-14-2010 08:39 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 10:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts