Help With A Twined Carrier System - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 06:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with a Twined Carrier system


Hello all,

I have two carrier sta58155-20 furnaces running in twin mode, single duct, one thermostat.

I had power issues and attempted to run one off a generator before I knew they were wired together. Short story, LH furnace ran for 10 mins then shut down, no error code light at all now.

Power issues fixed, now no light on LH furnace, RH has steady ready light. But no go.

First question, woudl the board have blown in the LH one or a relay or switch?

Second ?, could I swap the board out of the RH, place in LH and run only one furnace for now while waiting for replacement part? Or would this require disconnecting the Twining from them>?

Thank you

Dennis

Advertisement

dennismc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:40 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,419
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Help with a Twined Carrier system


May have a blown low voltage fuse, or the transformer may have gone out. If the duct system is twinned. Then running just one furnace ill cause it to over heat.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:05 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with a Twined Carrier system


Thank you.

Will test the transformer today, any idea where the low voltage fuse might be to check?
dennismc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:13 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Help with a Twined Carrier system


Low voltage fuse looks like a car fuse and it's located on the control board. There's going to be a limit switch behind the blower. Odds are the second furnace blower motor was spinning backwards and the heat from the other furnace tripped that limit.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:26 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with a Twined Carrier system


Ok 3amp fuse on the board is good.

The RH furnace didnt have any power to it when I hooked up to the generator. Didnt realize they were twinned and both had to run. So when I had it hooked to the generator, only one furnace, as it turns out was the LH main one had power to run.


ANy other switches I should check?
dennismc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:16 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,419
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Help with a Twined Carrier system


Check if the low voltage transformer is getting 120 volt, and if its out putting 24 volts.

Also make sure there is no emergency swith at the top of the basement steps that got turned off accidentally.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier System Sizing & Advice tballer HVAC 9 09-28-2012 06:25 AM
Humidifier for Carrier Infinity 96 system rvmeush HVAC 1 09-19-2012 07:16 AM
Carrier AC/Heat pump system help!! Partsman41953 HVAC 5 09-26-2010 06:54 AM
Carrier Infinity thermostats integrate with control4 2.0 Proteco HVAC 0 07-09-2010 06:33 PM
Size A/C system properly 70stang HVAC 1 03-26-2006 08:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts