Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2012, 03:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


Have an April Aire 700 humidifier on my furnace. We recently bought the house and this is my first year using it. It was full of hard water build up so i installed the refurb kit but there doesn't appear to be any water getting into the humidifier. There is a copper line running to it and it shows some hard water buildup around the valve and also drips. I think this is the culprit but wonder if there is anything else i should be aware if. Plumbing is not my thing. Here are some pics thanks for any advice.









Last edited by toobhed; 12-01-2012 at 01:09 PM. Reason: Adding Model Number to title
toobhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


common problems are saddle valve plugs up, orfice in humidifier plugs, and water screen plugs up.The orfice and screen are at the solenoid.Orfice is in end of plastic feed tube that is attached to solenoid, and screen is inside the inlet side of solenoid.I would start at saddle valve.

HVACTECH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HVACTECH96 For This Useful Post:
toobhed (12-01-2012)
Old 11-17-2012, 09:09 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,047
Rewards Points: 3,758
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


Moved to HVAC forum.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


moved what ....lol
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to carmon For This Useful Post:
toobhed (12-01-2012)
Old 11-18-2012, 08:07 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,538
Rewards Points: 2,390
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


remove copper line from saddle valve....after you turn it off....open and close valve to see if its cloged....blow out tubing and clean orifice,,,,hook back up make sure its getting 24 volts to valve....ben sr...may want to get rid of saddle valve and install regular valve reduced to 1/4" at some point.
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
toobhed (12-01-2012)
Old 12-01-2012, 01:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


I followed your advice, thanks guys. I get water to the solenoid. I can blow air through the other water feed tube coming from the solenoid. I don't think the solenoid is getting power, I have the blower running, I switch to test mode, no clicking, no LED's light up. I am not registering anything on the multimeter. Could I /should I also test for voltage on any of the leads in the circuit board>

By the way, this is an April Aire 700.

http://www.aprilaire.com/themes/aa/e...ier-Owners.pdf

There is a switch inside the control unit, not sure what it does or if it's relevant. No LED's light up. There is no mention of it in the manual. Not sure where to go at this point. Thanks for any advice.
toobhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 01:38 PM   #7
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,066
Rewards Points: 544
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


Open up your furnace access panel to look at the main control board and see if the wires from the humidifier and humidistat are connected there.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to raylo32 For This Useful Post:
toobhed (12-01-2012)
Old 12-01-2012, 01:47 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,047
Rewards Points: 3,758
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


Check for 24 volts between R and C in the humidifier control.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
toobhed (12-01-2012)
Old 12-01-2012, 02:16 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


I am not getting any reading and i verified that my meter is working. No power at the cicuiy board
toobhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 02:24 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,047
Rewards Points: 3,758
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


Quote:
Originally Posted by toobhed View Post
I am not getting any reading and i verified that my meter is working. No power at the cicuiy board
Then once you correct that, it should work again. may be a bad transformer.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
toobhed (12-01-2012)
Old 12-01-2012, 02:28 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


Ok will check transformer, thanks again
toobhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 03:49 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


Found a broken lead on the transformer. Fixed that but still no voltage at the circuit board. When i open the panel and the unit turns off, would i normally get a reading on the transformer or does unit have to be on to power the transformer?
toobhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:29 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,047
Rewards Points: 3,758
Default

Help troubleshooting furnace humidifier


120 volts need to be at the transformer. So the service switch must be on, and if there is a safety switch in the panel, it must be pushed in.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Armstrong furnace how to wire humidifier doublewide6 HVAC 35 12-25-2010 12:25 PM
Place to start troubleshooting a Carrier Furnace realjag HVAC 7 05-07-2009 12:26 PM
Carrier MPV Furnace & Aprilaire humidifier mikeramos HVAC 4 11-21-2008 06:04 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM
Installing a Furnace Humidifier pieman312 HVAC 1 01-08-2008 10:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.