Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2011, 10:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Help with return air duct


I really need some serious help. I live in a townhouse. the basement ceiling is still opened, so I decided to inspected all the ducts that branches off the main supply. I realized that the contractor who build in the house did not install the duct properly. So right now, am going through some major duct work. I have a return air duct on the middle floor and in the hall way on the upper floor. My upper floor gets too cold during winter and too hot during summer. My current unit is 2tons and am in the process of upgrading it to 2.5tons or 3tons. Just to let y'all know, the living area of my town house in 1220sf. Not that big. Also, each room on the upper floor has two supplies going into them. That should be enough, rite, once I upgrade to a bigger unit? Okay, my major concern is the return air duct. I have on in the hall way upstairs. Can I use a 'Tee' duct on the existing return duct (located in the hallway), the run about 6ft duct work of return air to each room upstairs. I have access to my attic. So, if I split the return air to deliver to the two rooms and hallway, will that have an impact on the system. Also, how do I determine the size of the return duct for the rooms assuming this is possible.

gasbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 10:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: everett washington
Posts: 32
Default

Help with return air duct


you dont need returns in every room. ur prolly got the right size unit already too. 2 tons should b fine for 1200 sq/ft. ur overthinking it

cascadehvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 12:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Help with return air duct


I think am overthinking too. My head is heating up. lol. Thanks
gasbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 05:08 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,609
Default

Help with return air duct


you have returns on the top and middle hallways and the unit location has return to it? i would focus on sealing that supply ducts before insulating them with thick duct mastic sealer...then wrap as you go.i would cheat the first floor to get the air to rise up into that top floor and then tweek open the first floor as desires...where is the stat located what floor...verift you have HI SPEED during cooling and LO or Med Lo during heating...check the squirrelks on the fan section that they are clean and not dusted...dirty
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 06:54 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

Help with return air duct


Do your own load calc and see what size you need. http://hvaccomputer.com/talkref.asp
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Return Air Duct size question syclnjr HVAC 14 02-06-2011 04:48 PM
Sealing air return duct jd1979 HVAC 8 10-07-2010 07:46 PM
Cold Air Return next to supply duct thebigbbm HVAC 6 09-21-2010 05:51 PM
question on return duct familyman HVAC 13 01-25-2009 11:05 AM
Return duct "boot or no boot" ads67 HVAC 16 01-10-2009 09:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.