Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2010, 02:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Help please


I guys i have a problem, our house is always dusty and so we are planing on putting in a AccuClean Whole Home Air Filtration System. Now the problem is that the new filter is 7.5'' wide and we had a 1'' filter before. The duct is 6'' away from the furnace. I will attach a picture to show for a better idea..

http://i953.photobucket.com/albums/a...TER/FILTER.jpg

http://i953.photobucket.com/albums/a...00820-1506.jpg

THANKS!

magapenguins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:23 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Help please


Mount it horizontally in the return air duct drop if the manufacturer allows that. Otherwise you need to get an extension piece/offset made by a tinsmith to allow it to be put where the existing filter is. Then move the spare filters and washer/dryer over a bit. DO NOT reduce the return duct size or the furnace and AC will suffer.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:33 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Help please


Yea it allows for it to be mounted on its side but they don't make a unit in that size... As for moving the duct over a little bit it should work, how much more should it be to have a tinsmith to make that piece (about ish)?
magapenguins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:36 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Help please


Case of beer if you know the guy. Depends on your local contractors rates. I would expect under $200. You would need precise measurements to the 1/4" and good pics for them to make it. Need some S-clips to attach it with.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:40 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Help please


lol yea that would be nice.. wow that is quite a bit, hopefully its abit less...the filter itself is around 800 whats anouther 100 or so
magapenguins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:42 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Help please


I really don't know your local costs. Most people don't do much for $100 these days and a sheet of metal costs over $25.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:46 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Help please


yea true.. but with the way the economy is here someone just might be happy to get a few extra bucks. well thanks for answering so quick

magapenguins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace filter, help!


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.